Skip to Main Content

Turabian Citation Style Guide 9th Edition: C. Journal Article from Article Database

This guide will help you cite sources in the Turabian/Chicago Style.

About Citing Articles

For each type of source in this guide, the general form and specific examples will be provided for both the Notes-Bibliography and the Author-Date style options of Turabian.

This information and several of the examples were drawn from A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations (9th edition). Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.

For further information, please ask your instructor or refer to the Turabian manual.

DOIs (pp. 141; 148; 220)

A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string that is used to identify a certain source (typically journal articles).

Example: doi:10.1080/14622200410001676305

 

If a DOI is listed on an electronic source it is included in the reference.  When there is a choice between using a DOI or a URL, it is recommended that a DOI be used because they are more stable than most URLs. 

 

Append the DOI to http://dx.doi.org/ in your citation. In addition, be sure to include that date you accessed the online source according to which style you are using: Bibliography style or Reference List style (p. 141).

 

For more information on DOIs and how they pertain to journal articles, check out pages 141, 148, and 220 of the Turabian Manual (9th ed.).

Journal Article from an Article Database

When citing an article found in a database, include the URL and access date. Use the website's preferred form of the URL if available rather than copying and pasting from the address bar in your browser. An even better choice, if available, is to include the article's DOI information in URL format  (http://dx.doi.org/insertDOInumber) and the access date. DOI URLs are generally more dependable than ordinary URLs. If neither a preferred URL or a DOI-formatted URL is available, you may include the name of the database that was used to find the article instead (pp. 140-141).
 
General Format
 
 
 Notes-Bibliography Style (pp. 148; 182-185):
 
      Note: 
 
      Note Number. Author First Name/Initial Author Last Name, "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article," Journal Title: Journal Subtitle Volume Number, Issue Number (Date of Publication): XX-XX. accessed Date of Access, URL.
 
 
      
      Bibliographic Entry:
 
 
 
Examples
 
 

      Note:

 
 
      5. Lisa J. Kiser, "Silencing the Lambs: Economics, Ethics, and Animal Life in Medieval Franciscan Hagiography," Modern Philology 108, no. 3 (February 2011): 340, accessed September 18, 2011, http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/65802.


      Bibliographic Entry:​

     
  
 
General Format
 
 
 
Author-Date Style (pp. 220; 246-249)
 
      Parenthetical Citation:
 
      (Author Last Name Year, XX-XX)
 
 
 
      Reference List Entry:
 
 
Examples
 
      Parenthetical Entry:
 

      (Kiser 2011, 340)

  
      Reference List Entry:​
    
      

Learn More

Handouts