Skip to main content

History - HSTR 462: The Holocaust in Nazi Occupied Europe: Finding Articles

Handy research guide to assist students in the History 462 class or for anyone interested in the Holocaust in Nazi Occupied Europe

Database Searching Tips

The MSUB Library subscribes to many databases which contain thousands of full-text articles. When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSUB credentials. Different databases have different appearances and user interfaces.  In general, most offer similar search functionality.

Spend some time brainstorming keywords & search terms to improve your search results. When you find a good article, look at its Reference list or Works Cited page because these can often lead you to other good sources.

Keyword searching is the default in most databases

  • Use important nouns as search words
  • Try using synonyms of your search words to increase results
  • Avoid common words: "a," "an," "the," "to," "of," etc.
  • Use double quotations around search terms to search for an exact phrase. Example: "Korean War"

 

JSTOR Tutorial - Search Tips!

View this 5 minute tutorial by the Library Man to learn some JSTOR searching tips!

Accessing Article Databases

Library Databases:

The Library has access to many electronic databases that contain full-text scholarly articles and more. When you are using a computer from off-campus to access one of these databases, you will be prompted for your username and password.  If you are using a campus computer you do not need to log into the database.

User ID:  Your User ID is your NetID

Password: If you don't know your password you can reset it by clicking here. You will  need to know your MyInfo Pin and Password to reset your library/Net ID password.

Databases

Use these databases to find articles, reviews, and more on your topic.

 

General:


Searches can be limited to scholarly and peer-reviewed journals in most databases.

History

News

More Databases (arranged alphabetically)