Skip to main content

History - World War I Centenary 1914-1918: International Resources

August 2014 marks the centenary of the outbreak of World War I. This guide provides links to resources to commemorate this First World War.

Portal of the German Federal Archives

More than 700,000 WWI records, including photos, films, and audio recordings have been available on a new portal on the German Federal Archive's website. The collection includes files from private, military, and civilian files. This archive also has extensive information about locations where soldiers served and letters that were written to and by the soldiers. Access is free and site can be translated into English.

Europeana

Europeana
http://www.europeana-collections-1914-1918.eu/

Europeana Collections 1914-1918 will create by 2014 – the centenary of the outbreak of the First World War – a substantial digital collection of material from national library collections of ten libraries and other partners in eight countries that found themselves on different sides of the historic conflict.

Western European Theater Political Pamphlet Collection 1894-1918

Princeton University Library's large digital collection of pamphlets documenting World War I in Europe. These pamphlets were collected by the library, starting from the outbreak of the war in 1914, as part of a larger European War Collection, later renamed the Western European Theater Political Pamphlet Collection. They cover a broad range of topics including the economy, the press, the military, arms, and territorial disputes.

British Library Flickr - WWI Indian Army

A series of photos depicting the Indian Army in the First World War. Digitised as part of the Europeana Collections 1914-1918 program. Also uploaded to Wikimedia Commons in May 2013.

The National Archives of the United Kingdom

National Archive UKhttp://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/pathways/firstworldwar/index.htm

This exhibition makes available an online selection of unique and richly varied source material on the First World War, set in its historical context. It provides resources for a wide variety of adult learners in the field of modern history. Whether you are pursuing an interest in family or military history, studying history formally, looking for research resources, or generally interested in discovering more about what the British writer H G Wells called 'the war that will end war', the exhibition offers something for you.

The exhibition draws on historical documents, film and sound available in Britain's National Archives and one of its leading museums. It starts from, but is not limited to, a British perspective on the war, and also aims to create a wider understanding of the global nature of the conflict and the profound consequences that resulted from it - consequences which, in areas such as the Balkans and Palestine, are still being felt today.

BBC History


http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/worldwars/wwone/

The causes, events and people of the conflict dubbed the 'war to end all wars'.

The First World War Poetry Digital Archive


http://www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/

The First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research.

The heart of the archive consists of collections of highly valued primary material from major poets of the period, including Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, Robert Graves, Vera Brittain, and Edward Thomas. This is supplemented by a comprehensive range of multimedia artefacts from the Imperial War Museum, a separate archive of over 6,500 items contributed by the general public, and a set of specially developed educational resources. These educational resources include an exciting new exhibition in the three-dimensional virtual world Second Life.

Freely available to the public as well as the educational community, the First World War Poetry Digital Archive is a significant resource for studying the First World War and the literature it inspired.