Marcus Tullius Cicero

The Young Cicero Reading

“If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.” ~~Cicero

Image credit: "The Young Cicero Reading" by Vincenzo Foppa - Web Gallery of Art: Image Info about artwork. Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons

Print Books

Letters to His Friends by D. Shackleton Bailey (Editor); D. R. Shackleton Bailey (Edited and Translated by); Marcus Tullius Cicero
Call Number: PA6156.C6E3 1965 v. 1 - v. 3
This English translation, 3 volume set of letters penned by Cicero to his friends. They range widely in substance and style, from official dispatches and semi-public letters of political importance to casual notes that chat with close friends about travels and projects, domestic pleasures and books, and questions currently debated.

Here is a sample of print material by Cicero found on the 3rd floor of the MSUB Library:

The speech of Cicero in defence of Cluentius by Cicero, Marcus Tullius
Call Number: PA6279.C7 1895
Translated Into English with an Introduction and Notes
Cicero's select orations by Cicero, Marcus Tullius
Call Number: PA6279.A4B8 1802
Translated into English with the original Latin
Philippics by Cicero, Marcus Tullius.
Call Number: PA6156.C5P4 1963
With an English translation by Walter C. A. Ker, M.A.

Other Cicero Resources

Cicero in ancient sources @ attalus.org
This site contains detailed lists of events and sources for the history of the Hellenistic world and the Roman republic. It includes links to online translations of many of the sources, as well as new translations of some works which have not previously been easily available in English.
Cicero (106 - 43 B.C.E)
From the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: A Peer-Reviewed Academic Resource
The Cicero Homepage
University of Texas website includes a bibliography, chronology, biography, myths, texts (Latin) and images.
Cicero by Plutarch
Written 75 A.C.E. Translated by John Dryden

Writings of Cicero

These links point to translated writings and collections of writings by Marcus Tullius Cicero.

Attalus.org
Scroll down the alphabetical list to find translated and Latin texts of Cicero, including de Republica, de Legibus, and de Officiis.
Cato the Elder: on old age
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Cicero: De Senectute De Amicitia De Divinatione. With An English Translation. William Armistead Falconer. Cambridge. Harvard University Press; Cambridge, Mass., London, England. 1923.
De Officiis
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. English Translation by Walter Miller. Cambridge. Harvard University Press; Cambridge, Mass., London, England. 1913.
De Officiis: Index
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. English Translation by Walter Miller. Cambridge. Harvard University Press; Cambridge, Mass., London, England. 1913.
De Officiis: introduction and bibliography
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. English Translation by Walter Miller. Cambridge. Harvard University Press; Cambridge, Mass., London, England. 1913.
De Senectute: Introduction
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Cicero: De Senectute De Amicitia De Divinatione. With An English Translation. William Armistead Falconer. Cambridge. Harvard University Press; Cambridge, Mass., London, England. 1923.
Divination
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Cicero: De Senectute De Amicitia De Divinatione. With An English Translation. William Armistead Falconer. Cambridge. Harvard University Press; Cambridge, Mass., London, England. 1923.
For Marcus Tullius
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. M. Tullius Cicero. The Orations of Marcus Tullius Cicero, literally translated by C. D. Yonge, B. A. London. Henry G. Bohn, York Street, Covent Garden. 1856.
For Publius Quinctius
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. M. Tullius Cicero. The Orations of Marcus Tullius Cicero, literally translated by C. D. Yonge. London. George Bell & Sons. 1903.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Link points to writings of Cicero with some translations.
Laelius on friendship
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Cicero: De Senectute De Amicitia De Divinatione. With An English Translation. William Armistead Falconer. Cambridge. Harvard University Press; Cambridge, Mass., London, England. 1923.
Letters
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Cicero. The Letters of Cicero; the whole extant correspondence in chronological order, in four volumes. Evelyn S. Shuckburgh. London. George Bell and Sons. 1908-1909.
On his House
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. M. Tullius Cicero. The Orations of Marcus Tullius Cicero, literally translated by C. D. Yonge, B. A. London. George Bell & Sons, York Street, Covent Garden. 1891.
Online Books by Marcus Tullius Cicero
A collection of links to translated online books hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Library
Online Library of Liberty
Liberty Fund, Inc. is a private, educational foundation established in 1960 to encourage the study of the ideal of a society of free and responsible individuals. This site provides access to 15 titles by Cicero and available for download in different formats (PDF, Kindle, HTML).
Orations, The fourteen orations against Marcus Antonius (Philippics)
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. M. Tullius Cicero. The Orations of Marcus Tullius Cicero, literally translated by C. D. Yonge. London. George Bell & Sons. 1903.
Project Gutenberg
Links to some Latin and some English translations of Marcus Tillius Cicero courtesy of Project Gutenberg.
Speech before Roman Citizens on Behalf of Gaius Rabirius, Defendant Against the Charge of Treason
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Translation by William Blake Tyrrell, Ed. No source: created in machine-readable form

E-Books

On the Republic and on the Laws by Marcus Tullius Cicero; David Fott (Translator)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 080147891X
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Translated with introduction, notes, and indexes by David Fott.

Log-in with your NetID and password to use these e-books from off-campus.

Search for other titles held by the MSUB Library by clicking here.

Political Speeches by Marcus Tullius Cicero
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0192832662
Publication Date: 2006-04-20
These new translations preserve Cicero's oratorical brilliance and achieve new standards of accuracy. A general introduction outlines Cicero's public career, and separate introductions explain the political significance of each of the speeches. This edition also provides an up-to-date scholarly bibliography, glossary and two maps. Together with the companion volume of Defense Speeches, this edition provides an unparalleled sampling of Cicero's achievements.
Defence Speeches by Marcus Tullius Cicero; D. H. Berry (Introduction by, Notes by, Translator)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0192825127
These new translations preserve Cicero's literary artistry and emotional force, and achieve new standards of accuracy. Each speech has its own introduction, and a general introduction discusses Cicero's public career and the criminal courts. The substantial explanatory notes guide the reader through the speeches, and offer new scholarship presented in a clear way.

History - HSTA 200 (Marcus Tullius Cicero & the Late Republican Rome): Marcus Tullius Cicero

Marcus Tullius Cicero

Print Books

Other Cicero Resources

Writings of Cicero

E-Books