Skip to main content

Women's Suffrage Movement: Websites

Montana Women's History Matters

Created as part of a commemoration of the hundredth anniversary of women’s suffrage in Montana, Women’s History Matters is designed to help the Montana Historical Society promote an increased appreciation and understanding of the role of women in the Treasure State’s past.

The History Channel: The Fight for Women's Suffrage

Coyright:Bettmann/CORBIS

Written for the History Channel website, this webpage outlines the Women's Suffrage movement from the mid 1800's to the early part of the 1900's.  You will also find several videos and photos about and from the time of the movement. 

Helpful Hint:  Consider clicking on the links throughout the page in order to find out more about the key players in the movement.  You can also click on one of the recommended articles to learn more about the fight for women's rights.

Library of Congress: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920

Copyright: Library of Congress

Want to see pictures from the Women's Suffrage Movement?  Visit this site, put together by the Library of Congress, to view photos relating to different parts of the movement.

Helpful Tip: Having trouble searching the site?  Consider using one of the subject headings/keywords listed on the homepage of this guide.  Or you can use the subject words listed below the photos to locate others that might be useful.

National Women's History Museum: Rights for Women

Copyright: National Women's History Museum

Put together by the National Women's History Museum, this online exhibit clearly outlines each important part of the fight for women's right to vote.  You will also find important images and documents relating to the movement. 

Helpful Tip: Consider visiting the homepage and clicking on the tab Education & Resources to find more helpful sources such as videos and various lectures.

Library of Congress: Women's Suffrage

Copyright: Library of Congress

Looking for primary sources for a paper?  Consider using one of the sources uploaded here by the Library of Congress.  Some of the sources featured are an article where Alice Paul describes being force fed and images of pamplets that were handed out in support of the movement.

Helpful Tip: Take a look through the Teacher Guide on this page.  While it is intended for teachers to use, it contains some information about the movement and lists of important resources.

Discovering American Women's History Online

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Helpful Tip: Search for suffrage topics using the search box or browse by subject.

National Archives: Woman Suffrage and the 19th Amendment

Copyright: National Archives

On this webpage, the National Archives has uploaded various important documents from the Women's Suffrage movement, including the ratification of the 19th Amendment in Tennessee.  While this page was created for teachers to use in the classroom, anyone interested in this movement will find this site useful.  Click on each link in the page to find a short description of each document and to also view the documents.

Helpful Tip: Consider viewing other online exhibits on this site.  You may just find useful information about other parts of American History.

PBS: Battle for Suffrage

Copyright: Library of Congress

 Read this article from PBS, and get a detailed overview of the Women's Suffrage Movement.  This article is placed within a subset of the site dedicated to Eleanor Roosevelt as a way to show how women's right to vote had a lasting impact on women after the movement ended.

Helpful Tip: Take a look at some of the other resources listed next to the article to learn more about Eleanor Roosevelt and how the Women's Suffrage movement changed women's involvement in America and politics.

History, Art & Archives: Jeannette Rankin

Jeannette Rankin’s life was filled with extraordinary achievements: she was the first woman elected to Congress, one of the few suffragists elected to Congress, and the only Member of Congress to vote against U.S. participation in both World War I and World War II.