Research materials on the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. Includes: NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
A digital archive collection of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, basic science, life sciences, and physical and applied sciences. Often starts with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s).
Full text and imaging of the Congressional Record, the official record of the debates and proceedings of the U.S. Congress. Covers 1789-2009. Current Congressional Record issues may be searched and browsed here: http://thomas.loc.gov/home/LegislativeData.php?&n=Record
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Selected full-text.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2013
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Several thousand items from the 1960s-90s documenting the generations of activists in the United States that fought for civil rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, and struggled against societal stigma to end the AIDS crisis. The collection consists of photographs documenting key activists, organizations, and protests, as well as posters, ephemera, and artwork.