Skip to main content

History - HSTR 499 (History of MSUB): University Archives

Helpful resources for Dr. Rust's history classes.

Special Collections & Archives Librarian

Eileen Wright's picture
Eileen Wright
Contact:
Need help, contact me:

Lib223 (Special Collections Room)
406-657-1656

Special Collections & Archives

The Special Collections and University Archives department is located on the 2nd floor of the Library. The basis of this collection contains print materials, photographs, and much more related to Eastern Montana College and Montana State University Billings. Items may be in print or digital format. The materials housed in the Special Collections & Archives area are non-circulating but are available for research by contacting librarian Eileen Wright.

 

Student Newspapers

The digitized content of Student Newspapers can be found in two locations: 

Montana Newspapers and the Student Newspaper Archive

A listing of the name changes and dates of the Student Newspapers: 

The RimRock Echo 1929- 1941

Eastern State Dec. 1945 – Dec. 1946

You Name It/EMCOE Feb. 1949 – June 1949

EMCOE Sept. 1949 – June 1950

EMCOE Oct. 1950 – May 1951

EMCOE Oct. 1951 – May 1952

EMCOE Oct. 1952 – July 1953

Yellowjacket July 24, 1953

EMCOE Sept. 1953 – June 1954

SEMCOE June 10, 1954- Aug. 2, 1954

EMCOE/The Buzzer Sept. 1954 – Aug. 1955

EMCOE Sept. 1955 – Aug. 1956

EMCOE Sept. 1956 – Aug. 1957

EMCOE Sept. 1957 – May 1958

EMCOE Sept. 1958 – March 1959

The Retort April 1959 – May 1960

The Retort Oct. 1960 – May 1961

The Retort Oct. 1961 – May 1962

The Retort Oct. 1962 – May 1963

Eastern Highlights April 1, 1964

The Retort Sept. 1963 – June 1964

The Retort Sept. 1964 – May 1965

The Retort Sept. 1965 – May 1966

The Retort Sept. 1966 – May 1967

The Retort Sept. 1967 - May 1968

The Retort June 1968 – Aug. 1968

The Retort Sept. 1968 – May 1969

The Retort June 1969 – Aug. 1969

The Retort Sept. 1969 – May 1970

The Pulp May 27, 1970

The Retort June 1970 – Aug. 1970

The Retort Sept. 1970 – May 1971

The Retort June 1971 – Aug. 1971

The Retort Sept. 1971 – May 1972

The Retort Sept. 1972 – May 1973

The Retort June 1973 – Aug. 1973

The Retort Sept. 1973 – May 1974

The Retort Sept. 1974 – May 1975

The Retort June 1975 – May 1976

The Retort Sept. 1976 – Aug 1977

The Retort Sept. 1977 – May 1978

The Retort /EMC Retort June 1978 – Aug. 1979

EMC Retort/ASEMC Retort Sept. 1979 – Aug. 1980

ASEMC Retort /The Retort Sept. 1980 – May 1981

The Retort Sept. 1981 – Aug. 1982

The Retort Aug. 1982 – Aug. 1983

The Retort Jan. 1983 – July 1984

The Retort Sept. 1984 – May 1985

The Retort Sept. 1985 – May 1986

The Retort Oct. 1986 – May 1987

The Retort Sept. 1987 – Aug. 1988

The Retort Sept. 1988 – May 1989

The Retort Sept. 1989 – May 1990

The Retort Sept. 1990 – June 1991

The Retort Sept. 1991 – May 1992

The Retort Sept. 1992 – May 1993

The Retort Sept. 1993 – Aug. 1994

The Retort Sept. 1994 – April 1995

The Retort Sept. 1995 – April 1996

The Retort Sept. 1996 – April 1997

The Retort Sept. 1997 – April 1998

The Retort Oct. 1998 – Summer 1999

The Retort Sept. 1999 – Dec. 1999

The Retort Oct. 2000 – April 2001

The Retort Oct. 2001 – April 2002

The Retort Oct. 2002 – April 2003

The Retort Sept. 2003 – April 2004

The Retort Sept. 2004 – April 2005

The Retort Sept. 2005 – May 2006

The Retort Sept. 2006 – April 2007

The Retort Jan. 2009 – April 2010

The Retort Sept. 2010 – April 2011

The Retort Sept. 2011 – April 2012

The Retort Sept. 2011 – April 2014

 

Not Digitized:

The Retort 7.1 – Sept. 8, 2015

The Retort 7.2 - Sept. 22, 2015

The Retort 7.3 – Oct. 6, 2015

The Retort 7.4 – Oct. 20, 2015

The Retort 7.5 – Nov. 17, 2015

The Retort 7.6 – Nov. 25, 2015

The Retort 7.7 – Feb. 24, 2016

The Retort 7.8 – March 23, 2016

The Retort Special Edition – 2016

The Retort 7.9 – April 20, 2016

The Retort 93.1 – Sept. 21, 2016

The Retort 93.2 – Oct. 5, 2016

The Retort 93.3 – Oct. 19, 2016

The Retort 93.4 – Nov. 2, 2016

The Retort 93.5 – Nov. 16, 2016

The Retort 93.6 – Nov. 30, 2016

The Retort 93.7 – Dec. 7, 2016

The Retort 93.8 – Feb. 1, 2017

The Retort 93.9 – Feb. 15, 2017

The Retort 93.10 – March 1, 2017

The Retort 93.11 – March 29, 2017

The Retort 93.12 – April 26, 2017

The Retort 94.1 – Oct. 31, 2017

The Retort 94.2 – 5 Dec. 5, 2017

The Retort 94.4 – March 15, 2017