On this page you will find several open Engineering textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.
The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive. The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here.
|
Online Engineering Course Managment System -Dr. Kurt Gramoll "eCourses web portal is designed to assist both students and professors in basic engineering courses. The web site includes all instructional material to conduct a course and there is no cost to either the instructor or student. Features include eBook, database of homework/quiz/test problems, solution to all problems, lectures in both Quicktime and Flash format, computer grading, and utilities. To help facilitate communications between students, instructors, and TAs there is an integrate web board and collaborative drawing board. Each web-based course is controlled and administered by the instructor." -Dr. Kurt Gramoll Dr. Gramoll's eCourses features eTextbooks on the following subjects: Developed by Dr. Kurt Gramoll, at the University of Oklahoma, this course management system features content spanning Statics, Dynamics, Fluid Mechnaics, Thermodynamics, Calculus, and Solid Mechanics. Included in the Solid Mechanics content is a 2D Torsion Stress Analysis Tool. This tool can be used in a web browser via the Flash version of the tool. There is also a version of this tool available for iOS and Android devices.
Developer: Dr. Kurt Gramoll, University of Oklahoma eCourses is free to use by anyone and any instructor may contact Dr. Gramoll to request a "key number" in order to set up a class. The contents of eCourses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
|
 |
|
A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering -Connexions The first three chapters of this book provide a fairly complete coverage of complex numbers, the functions ex and ejθ, and phasors. These three chapters may also be used as a supplement to a circuits course. A measured pace of presentation, taking between sixteen and eighteen lectures, is sufficient to cover all but the advanced sections in Complex Numbers through Phasors. Author: Louis Scharf, Ph.D., Colorado State University, Electrical and Computer Engineering This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License.
|
 |
|
Basics of Fluid Mechanics -Genick Bar-Meir, Ph. D. This book describes the fundamentals of fluid mechanics phenomena for engineers and others. This book is designed to replace all introductory textbooks or instructor’s notes for the fluid mechanics in undergraduate classes for engineering/science students but also for technical peoples. It is hoped that the book could be used as a reference book for people who have at least some basic knowledge of science areas such as calculus, physics, etc. Author: Permission is granted to copy, distribute and/or modify this document under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License, Version 1.2 or later or Potto license.
|
 |
|
Non-Isothermal Kinetic Methods -Edition Open Access This methodical manual focuses on a small aspect of calculations in thermal analysis dealing with constructing kinetic models from thermogravimetry and differential scanning calorimetry experimental data.Authors: This publication is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Germany Licence.
|
 |
|
Op Amps for Everyone -Texas Instruments This text in 450 pages, covers a wealth of op-amp related topics, including physics, circuit theory, op-amp fundamentals, feedback and stability theory, noise theory, and design techniques. This text is full of white-paper quality diagrams as one might expect from Texas Instruments. This text is copyright Texas Instruments; however, it is free to be distributed without alteration. See the 'Important Notice' section for more information. |
 |
|
Treatise on Thermodynamics -Dr. Max Planck This text is a comprehensive rewrite of Planck's original scientific papers. Written with the intention of "giving at greater length, and with more detail, certain general considerations and demonstrations too concisely expressed in [the original] papers . . . The chief reason [for the rewrite] was that an opportunity was thus offered to present the entire field of Thermodynamics from a uniform point of view. This, to be sure, deprives the work of the character of an original contribution to science and stamps it rather as an introductory textbook on Thermodynamics for students who have taken elementary courses in Physics and Chemistry and are familiar with the elements of Differential and Integral Calculus." Author: Dr. Max Planck, Nobel Prize in Physics 1918
|
 |
|
A Heat Transfer Textbook -John H. Lienhard IV This text was written with the intention of providing engineering juniors, seniors, and first-year graduate students their grounding in hear transfer - in conduction, convection, radiation, phase-change, and an introduction to the kindred subject of mass transfer. It was designed in such a way as to accommodate differing levels of rigor depending of the instructor's preference. Care was taken to include real-world examples early in the text in order to construct a conceptual foundation on which the later more complex aspects of the text are built upon. -John H. Lienhard Authors: Dr. John H. Lienhard IV, Mechanical Engineering, University of Houston Dr. John H Lienhard V, Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology This text is licensed under copyright; however, its authors have granted permission for it to be download, and printed for personal use and for non-profit instructional use. |
 |
|
Thermodynamics and Chemistry -Howard Devore Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source. Author: Howard DeVoe, Associate Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 3.0 License.
|
 |
|
Operational Amplifiers: Theory and Practice -James K. Roberge This text is the product of evolution of a course on operational amplifiers. It became apparent to the author that the operational amplifier had value beyond that of a circuit component; it was also an excellent instructinoal vehicle. This device supplied a reason for studying a collection of analytic and design techniques that were necessary for a thorough understanding of operational amplifiersand were also important to the general area of active circuit design. Author James K. Roberge, Electrical Engineering, MIT This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.
|
 |
|
Engineering Thermodynamics: a Graphical Approach -Israel Urieli This online text was designed for a two-course sequence in thermodynamics for Mechanical Engineering majors. The book introduces thermodynamics with the First Law and its appilcation in analyzing complete ideal Stirling and air-standard engine cycles, steam power plants, and refrigeration systems. This approach is unique in that it features pervasive use of pressure-enthalpy diagrams that enable simple visualizations of complex steam power plants, to a high degree of accuracy. Dr. Urieli has published a paper regarding the creation and use of this book. Author: Dr. Israel Urieli, Mechanical Engineering, Ohio University This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.
|
 |
|
Find more Engineering textbooks in these collections
|
|
|
The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors. A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. |
 |
|
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services. -College Open Textbooks |
 |
|
MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources. |
 |
|
This is a collection complete textbooks and textbook-like notes that can be found within all of the open courseware featured in MIT's open courseware site. As one might expect from MIT, many of the textbooks featured here focus on Mathematics, Computer Science, and Engineering. |
 |
|
This site provides a series of online textbooks covering electricity and electronics. The information provided is great for both students and hobbyists who are looking to expand their knowledge in this field. Author: Published under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution License. |
 |
|
Online Interactive Graphing Application -Desmos Desmos is a math engine that can graph any equation, including derivatives and Fourier series. Interactive sliders enable users to demonstrate function transformations. The graphing calculator operates on any computer or tablet without requiring any downloads. Desmos is completely free to use. A free account is required to save plots and to export plots as images. Desmos is subject to its terms of use. "Desmos does not claim ownership of any formulae, information, data, text or other materials you submit for display... However, you grant to Desmos an irrevocable license ... to use, distribute, ... , [and] publicly display User Submissions." |
 |
|
PhET -University of Colorado Boulder To help students visually comprehend concepts, PhET simulations animate what is invisible to the eye through the use of graphics and intuitive controls such as click-and-drag manipulation, sliders and radio buttons. In order to further encourage quantitative exploration, the simulations also offer measurement instruments including rulers, stop-watches, voltmeters and thermometers. -PhET About: Most PhET simulations are released under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License. Those which are not are licensed under a GNU General Public License.
|
 |
|
This course is an introduction to the dynamics and vibrations of lumped-parameter models of mechanical systems. Topics covered include kinematics, force-momentum formulation for systems of particles and rigid bodies in planar motion, work-energy concepts, virtual displacements and virtual work. Students will also become familiar with the following topics: Lagrange's equations for systems of particles and rigid bodies in planar motion, and linearization of equations of motion. Instructors: J. Kim Vandiver, Massachusettes Institute of Technology, Mechanical Engineering David C. Gossard, Massachusettes Institute of Technology, Mechanical Engineering Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use. |
 |
|
Introduction to Lean Six Sigma Methods -MIT This course introduces the fundamental Lean Six Sigma principles that underlay modern continuous improvement approaches for industry, government and other organizations. Instructors: Prof. Earll Murman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Engineering Systems Dr. Hugh McManus, Massachusettes Institute of Technology, Lean Advancement Initiative Prof. Annalisa Weigel, Massachusettes Institute of Technology, Engineering Systems Allen Haggerty, Massachusettes Institute of Technology, Lean Aerospace Initiative Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use. |
 |
|
Video tutorials on projectile motion, mechanics, electricity and magnetism.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
|
 |
|
Collin's Lab is a video series that features videos about various Electronics topics. Most videos are fundamental, covering basic circuit components, pulse width modulation, breadboards, multimeters, ADCs, and various explanations of the inner-workings of power supplies, function generators, guitar pedals and other interesting electronic devices. Available for viewing via YouTube and download at Make, these videos are assumed to be under copyright. |
 |
