Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need an article from a music journal? We currently subscribe to the following music-specific resources listed below to help you get started. Note that you will need to give your NetID and password if you would like to access these databases from off-campus.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database reflects the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Focused on, but not limited to, art, architecture, literature, music, theatre, and film.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
British Periodicals 1680s - 1930s This link opens in a new window
Contains 500 periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre, 1880-2000
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
Browse Music Journals
Want to search within a particular Journal?
Have a citation but don't know where to find the source? Search here!
Other databases to try
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, including full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive collection of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, basic science, life sciences, and physical and applied sciences. Often starts with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digital archives of maps, photographs, newspapers, manuscripts, books, and other primary sources in both Western and non-Western languages documenting the history of the 19th century. Covers topics in science, technology, politics, society, literature and the arts, among others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering all major subjects, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Includes scholarly journal articles, news, dissertations, working papers and more.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
100% full-text, user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full text database designed to provide a series of controversial essays the present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.
TumbleBookLibrary This link opens in a new window
TumbleBookLibrary is a curated database of children’s e-books, over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes animated talking picture books, read-along chapter books, National Geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French. Plus, the collection features Graphic Novels.
To search for items available @ MSUB, you must add a Library link to your Google search. To do this, sign in to Google Scholar, select Settings, Library Links, search for MSUB, and check the box next to MSUB.