Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music : Finding Songs

Finding Songs

While you can find songs published individually, they can be published in anthologies or are part of a larger work such as a song cycle, opera, or cantata.  In most cases, all that's needed is a keyword search to locate a score of a song. 

Here are some steps to help you find scores of songs.

I. Catalog:

A. Use a keyword search in the catalog (i.e. "Gute Nacht").
B. Enter the composer name in one of the other text boxes (in this case, it would be Schubert).  Select "Author" from the drop down box labeled "Any field."

C. On the left-hand side under "Resource Type", select "Scores."
D. If you know that the song came from a larger work such as an opera, song cycle, cantata or oratorio, then search under the title of that larger work instead(in this case, it would be Winterreise)
.  Select "Title" from the drop down box labeled "Any field,"  add the composer's name, and select the "Author" from the drop down box labeled "Any Field."
E. On the left-hand side under "Resource Type", select "Scores."

II. If you are having trouble determining whether or not a song came from a larger work, try the following:

A. Search Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians by composer and locate the song in the works list if possible.
B. UTK Song Index- http://www.lib.utk.edu/music/songdb/. Keep in mind that this resource will link to the University of Tennessee resources, not the ones here at MSUB. If you find an item you would like to request, input the citation information into an InterLibrary Loan request here, and we will try to locate a copy for you from one of our partner libraries.
C. When you find a song in a collection, write down the title of the anthology and look it up in the MSUB Library’s online catalog.
D. Don't hesitate to contact Linda Garcia, Music Librarian, for more help! 

Finding Songs in Print Indexes

Finding Songs in Electronic Indexes

You can consult printed song indexes if you can’t find a copy of a song, or its larger work, in the catalog. When consulting these individual song indexes, be sure to look at the preface to learn how to look up your song. In most of these books, the front of each song index will have a listing of the anthologies it indexes. The rest of the book is comprised of individual song titles with a reference back to the anthology. Please be sure to write down the title of the anthology or collection and look it up in the Mansfield Library’s online catalog in order to locate the work.  Please also bear in mind that many of these titles are in library use only.