Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Toolkit: D2L & The Library

Library resources and information for MSUB faculty.

D2L Integration

The Library supports your online courses! We have a variety of information sources for online students and offer multiple services to support instructors. Please feel free to contact us at anytime with any questions.

Electronic items should be placed in your D2L course shell. We encourage you to link to database articles available through the MSUB Library's databases instead of uploading the document. Linking out to these articles helps you to stay on the safe side of copyright law. Library staff are available to assist as necessary.

Linking to Library Databases

Want to link to a specific library database?

  1. Find the database using the links below.
  2. Right-click on the database link.
  3. Choose "copy shortcut" or "copy link location" (wording depends on which browser is used).
  4. Use the "Insert Stuff" on the D2L toolbar to insert the lik.

A stable URL (including our proxy login for off-campus use) is now on your computer's clipboard and ready to be pasted into your course content.

 

Databases by Subject

Databases by Name

Library Widget

Make sure your Library Widget is active in D2L! This widget includes links to helpful library resources and the library's contact information.

This image depicts a screen-capture of the Library widget from D2L.

Critical Library Research Skills

Critical Library Research Skills is a free D2L course designed to assist students with the basics of the research process. The course provides an overview of the steps in selecting and developing a topic for research, formulating a research strategy, finding and critically evaluating sources, and the ethical use of information through citation. Instructors have two options for utilizing this material:  1) students self-enroll in the course or 2) instructors can have eLearning copy the files into their course shell and customize as desired. There are 5 modules, which include video tutorials. This course was freshly updated for the 2021-2022 academic year!

 

To self-enroll in the course, sign into D2L and click "Self Registration." If you want the files copied into your class, email msubonline@msubillings.edu and include the course name where you want the files placed.

 

Picture of how to self register in D2L

 

 

The modules include the following:

 

 

5 modules include: Selecting & Developing a Topic; Developing a Search Strategy; Finding Sources; Evaluating Sources & Citing Sources