LibGuides: Finding News Stories: Historical News

Historical Newspapers Online

Use this guide to find historical U.S. newspapers, which are organized by state.

Chronicling America

Search America's historic newspapers from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Historical Montana News

To find historical Montana news, go to the Montana News Tab.

Historical News Databases

Use your NetID & Password to use these subscription databases from off-campus. Contact the library if you have any problems.

Early American Newspapers (Series 1, 2, 6 & 10) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of early American Newspapers, covering colonial Period through WWI (1690-1900).
Illustrated London News This link opens in a new window
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. The Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events -- including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science -- with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria's fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace.
Japanese American Relocation Camp Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of 25 newspapers documenting daily life in Japanese internment camps during WWII. * When you are in the database, click on "Collections."
New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2018
Newspapers.com West Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 150 digitized newspapers from the Western states (and Arkansas!)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digital archives of maps, photographs, newspapers, manuscripts, books, and other primary sources in both Western and non-Western languages documenting the history of the 19th century. Covers topics in science, technology, politics, society, literature and the arts, among others.
San Francisco Chronicle 1865-1922 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1865 - 1922
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.

Open Access Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America
Search historic Montana newspapers, covering 1800s-present.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
This page highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers from around the world. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources.