Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image from findagrave.com
HeritageQuest for MSU Billings
Available for MSUB Library users. Sign-in with your NetID & Password for off-campus access
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Vital Records, Websites & More
Some resources on this page may require subscription or account. Free versions may provide limited access but can still be helpful to your research.
National Archives Resources for Genealogists
Lots of tips and resources to help, including an ancestral chart that can be downloaded.
Find a Grave
Find the graves of ancestors or search cemeteries by name or location. Info often includes birth, death, & burial info and often includes pictures, bios, & family info. People from all over the world have worked together to build this virtual cemetery. Free account lets you save information in your profile.
A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.
Family Search (LDS)
Includes several databases & services. Create a free account.
Billings Public Library Geneaology
Helpful resources and links from the Billings Public Library
Freedmen's Bureau: African American Research
The Freedman's Bureau was established by the War Dept in 1865 and was tasked with supervising all relief and educational activities relating to refugees & freedmen. This website contains records of the Bureau.
Soldiers & Sailors Database
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. From the National Park Service.
The USGenWeb Project is a group of volunteers working together and having fun providing free online genealogy help and information for every U.S. state and county