History - HSTA 494: History of Punk Rock Movement: Punk Zines

Uses a long arm stapler

Punk Planet was a 16,000 print run punk zine, based in Chicago, Illinois, that focused most of its energy on looking at punk subculture rather than punk as simply another genre of music to which teenagers listen. In addition to covering music, Punk Planet also covered visual arts and a wide variety of progressive issues — including media criticism, feminism, and labor issues.

Easily searchable by title, subject, topic, date published, creator, and more

Digital Fanzine Preservation Society (DFPS). A collection of hardcore and punk music fanzines remastered and collected on the DFPS blogspot by Nagus from 2009-2011.

Published in St. Louis from 1980-1981 this zine covered the minutia of the St. Louis punk scene as well as wider coverage of the underground music scene in the United States.

Website dedicated to preserving the sights, sounds, and stories of those involved in the first wave of the Detroit punk rock (1977-1983).

Website contains fully downloadable local punk, metal, and hip hop from the Milwaukee area from the 1970s-2000s.

Crowdsourced archive includes photos, zines, bands, videos, and more.

Work in progress aiming toward establishing the San Diego Punk Archive.

Holds issues of Slash, No Mag, Damage, Dry.

Maximum Rocknroll is a widely distributed monthly fanzine dedicated to supporting the underground punk rock scene. MRR’s long history and large, obsessed, all-volunteer staff makes its punk rock coverage the most consistently up-to-date and reliable around.

Razorcake provides consistent coverage of do-it-yourself punk culture that you won’t find anywhere else.Our bi-monthly fanzine is a one-of-a-kind resource for the DIY punk community. Over the years, Razorcake has developed this resource to help document every facet of this culture. The Razorcake Gorsky umbrella also includes book publishing, record pressing, live shows and readings, and a thriving web presence that maintains weekly podcasts, webcomics, and videos.