Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Department Resource Center
The Jeffrey M. Edgmond Resource Center is located in CI 118. Students are encouraged to listen to recordings, view scores and DVD’s, and use the CD sheet music files. The library is circulating and resources may be removed from the library for studying purposes. Listening stations and computers are available for student use during regular office hours for studying purposes.
Scores use the Library of Congress Classification (LC) rather than Dewey Decimal Classification and the numbers will start with either "M", "ML" or "MT". Once you become familiar with the system, you'll find it very helpful to revisit sections to browse. For a helpful guide to browsing scores by LC call numbers click on the link below:
This link will take you to UNLV Music Library's Guide to the Library of Congress Music Scores Classification. This is a pretty comprehensive guide on how these materials are organized.
Here are a few simple tips on LC call numbers for music:
* M = scores (sheet music); so, "M" is for music.
* ML = books about music,music history, or literature about music.
* MT = books about music theory, music education, instrumental or vocal techniques or methods.
Resources about Copyright Law
Creative Commons Licenses
About CC Licenses
Creative Commons licenses give everyone from individual creators to large institutions a standardized way to grant the public permission to use their creative work under copyright law. From the reuser’s perspective, the presence of a Creative Commons license on a copyrighted work answers the question, “What can I do with this work?”
Music (Sheet Music, Scores, and More)
Please be sure to verify the copyright status of the works you wish to use. Information about Copyright and Creative Commons Licenses are available on the lower left side of this page.
Choral Public Domain Library
This site provides access to public domain choral sheet music as well as some contemporary works where the composer wished to share scores for download.
Harvard College Library's Online Resources for Music Scholars
This site provides a list of links to institutions who digitize sheet music for the open web. Some of the materials that they list may be subscription-only for the Harvard community. Please verify that the material is actually in the public domain.
Historic American Sheet Music (Duke University)
Most of the materials here are in the public domain, but please check the dates or other features to be certain.
IMSLP (Petrucci Music Library)
Locate public domain and Creative Commons-licensed scores here. There are also a fair number of recordings available on this site as well.
Contains some score collections. Locate these materials using a keyword search. As always, please be sure to verify the public domain or Creative Commons status of the work.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
Contains popular American sheet music from 1780 through 1980. Just from looking at the range of dates, not everything is in the public domain; be sure to check dates and other features.
Contains public domain scores, and CC-Licensed sound recordings. You need to create an account in order to download any of the recordings. You can download up to 5 recordings per day for free.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music
Sheet music collection dating from 1870-1885. Most of the content should be in the public domain, but you need to verify it.
Public Domain Information Project
This site does not provide immediate access to public domain scores; however it provides a very helpful list of music titles that are in the public domain.