Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The MSUB Library's Government Document Collection
The MSUB Library is currently closed in response to the COVID-19 outbreak in compliance with national and state guidelines. For more information about the MSUB Library's response to COVID-19 please visit this website: http://www.msubillings.edu/library/COVID-19Response.htm
The MSU Billings Library has been a selective depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) since 1958. The collection provides access to government information in print, electronic, and microform formats. The MSU Billings Library is also a State of Montana Depository Library. The collection includes governments information at national, regional, state, county, and city levels.
There are a number of libraries in Montana that are a part of the Federal Depository Library Program. A listing of these participating libraries can be found at Federal Depository Libraries.
The Government Information Research Guide at the University of Montana and the Government Documents Research Guide at Montana State University also contain a lot of helpful information and links.
Despite federal and state closures, the 2020 Census is still moving forward.
- Data will be collected through October 31, 2020
- Field operations curtailed until at least June 1, 2020
Visit 2020census.gov to be counted.
The Physical Collection
Most of the recently published government publications are available online. As time and funding permits, older documents are being digitized and available online as well. Even though many documents are available electronically, the MSU Billings Library has a selected print collection of government documents including, books, reports, pamphlets, and maps. Our government documents focus on Montana, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, Idaho, Yellowstone National Park and Glacier National Park. This collection is open to the public during library hours. The collection uses the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) Classification System.
MSU Billings Library Electronic Sources of Government Information
U.S. Government Information
Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.
Congressional Quarterly Researcher
Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Congressional Quarterly Weekly
Reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week. 1983-present
Congressional Record 1789-2009
Full text and imaging of the Congressional Record, the official record of the debates and proceedings of the U.S. Congress. Covers 1789-2009. Current Congressional Record issues may be searched and browsed here: http://thomas.loc.gov/home/LegislativeData.php?&n=Record
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
The Serial Set contains House and Senate Documents as well as House and Senate Reports. The reports are typically from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations.
CQ Press Library - the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2018 (ProQuest)
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You’ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source.
Montana Memory Project
The Montana Memory Project provides access to digital collections and items related to Montana's cultural heritage and government. These collections and items document the Montana experience. Many of these items are digitized copies of historic material, some items are contemporary. All serve as a resource for education, business, pleasure, and lifelong learning.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part One
Research materials on the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. Includes: NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis- including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Legal material, directories, and court information for each state.
Montana Governor's Coronavirus Task Force
COVID-19 Resources from FDLP
Government Documents Librarian
Government Documents Technician