Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library has access to many history databases, including digital archives with primary source material. History databases can be found under the "history" database guide located here.
The Center for Migration Studies
An educational institute and nonpartisan think tank based in New York City that studies domestic immigration and international migration issues. Its site features policy reports and papers as well as a digital archive that contains rich sources on immigration history in the United States.
Densho Digital Repository
A comprehensive reference tool with nearly 1,000 free and accessible entries related to the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans.
DHS - Mapping Immigration: Naturalized Citizens
aturalized citizens are legal permanent residents (LPRs) who have applied for and been granted U.S. citizenship. These people have fulfilled certain age, residency, and admission requirements and are granted nearly the same privileges, rights, and responsibilities as native-born citizens.
Provides access to books and other texts published prior to 1923.
Harvard - Immigration to the United States
Documenting voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collections of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Immigration History Research Center Archives
A renowned archives and library at the University of Minnesota dedicated to the study of immigration, ethnicity, and race. The archives feature extensive digital collections. Immigrant Stories – A digital exhibit hosted by the University of Minnesota that empowers immigrants, refugees, and their family members to create digital and share stories– brief videos with images, text, and audio about a personal experience.
Japanese American National Museum
Online collection features highlights from the museum’s collection of over 60,000 unique artifacts, documents, and photographs.
Library of Congress
The LOC site feature extensive digital collections and teaching aid on a variety of U.S. history topics.
Library of Congress Digital Collection - Chinese Exclusion Act
On May 6, 1882, the Chinese Exclusion Act was signed into law, prohibiting the immigration of Chinese laborers for ten years. This guide compiles Library of Congress digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography.
The National Archives Catalog is the online portal to the records held at the National Archives, and information about those records. It is the main way of describing our holdings and also provides access to electronic records and digitized versions of our holdings.
Online Archive of California
Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections (including many related to immigration) maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
South Asian American Digital Archive
Landing at Ellis Island
Image from the Library of Congress
Oral History Information & Resources
Bracero History Archive
This digital archive contains oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.
Brooklyn Historical Society Oral History Collection
Brooklyn Historical Society Oral History Collection – The society hosts oral history collections that include over 1,200 interviews, many related to immigrant communities in Brooklyn with audio, and in some cases transcripts, that can be accessed online.
Vietnamese American Oral History Project
A collection of oral histories that illustrate the experiences of Vietnamese-Americans collected by UC Irvine.
Newspapers - Access Through the Library!
A Note on Newspapers - Newspaper articles can be used as Primary or Secondary Resources depending on the context! Think about if the articles were written for a historical prospective, or as media coverage at the time. If you need clarification, just ask!
Billings Gazette: Digital Archives of Billings Public Library This link opens in a new window
The Advantage Preservation portal stores digital archives of recent editions of the Billings Gazette starting with January 2013. The collection is expanded at quarterly intervals and includes an assortment of early Gazettes from 1929 to 1970.
Early American Newspapers (Series 1, 2, 6 & 10) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of early American Newspapers, covering colonial Period through WWI (1690-1900).
HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Japanese American Relocation Camp Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of 25 newspapers documenting daily life in Japanese internment camps during WWII. * When you are in the database, click on "Collections."
New York Times (1851-2013) with Index (1851-1993) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2013
San Francisco Chronicle 1865-1922 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1865 - 1922
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage from the world's leading financial newspaper. 1884-present, full-text.