Primary Library Sources - History - HSTR 499 - Capstone: Age of American Empire - LibGuides at Montana State University Billings

Library Databases

Sign-in using your NetID and Password when using these databases from off-campus.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This database provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
American History, 1493- 1945
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s archive of letters, diaries, maps pamphlets, printed books, newspapers and ephemera sheds light on the political, economic and social history of the United States up until the 20th Century. The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.
Chronicling America (Montana Newspapers)
80 newspapers from Montana are freely available for viewing. This digital collection is sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
60,000+ images and documents (both manuscripts and printed sources) of primary source material useful for investigations in many disciplines, including women’s and gender studies, history, literature, sociology and education. Includes a wide range of primary source material including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature that reveal attitudes towards gender.
Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800- 1920
This collection studies American social, cultural, and popular history during the 19th and early 20th centuries. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
HathiTrust
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collections of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
History Vault
Contains millions of primary source documents in these History Vaults: American Politics & Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and American History, 1775-1915; Struggle for Women's Rights; World War II (Documents in Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees); and Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
New York Times (1851-2018)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2018
San Francisco Chronicle 1865-1922 (ProQuest)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1865 - 1922
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.
Vogue Archive
Entire run of Vogue from the first issue in 1892 to the present. Entire issues reproduced, including articles, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Perfect for art, fashion, history, advertising, and design research.

Historical U.S. Newspapers

Interested in viewing historical newspapers in the United States? Click here to link to another guide that has newspapers arranged by state. Not all of these resources will be directly applicable to this project, but there are some interesting places to get started.

Image Info:

American and British soldiers gathered around, looking at a newspaper. The title of the newspaper is not completely clear but is the 'Daily M---'. Both the Daily Mail and Daily Mirror were in print during World War I, but the typeface and length of the name make it probable that this is the Mail. Ten thousand copies of the Daily Mail were delivered free to the Front every day, but the Daily Mirror was popular with the troops because it had more news from the Home Front. [Original reads: 'OFFICIAL PHOTOGRAPH TAKEN ON THE BRITISH WESTERN FRONT IN FRANCE. Keen American & British interest in the progress of the war.']

History - HSTR 499 - Capstone: Age of American Empire: Primary Library Sources

Primary Resources

Library Databases

Historical U.S. Newspapers