LibGuides: PSYX 499: Psychology Senior Thesis: Literature Review

Article Databases

Log-in using your NetID and password when accessing databases from off-campus. To reset your library account password, click here. You will need to know your MyInfo ID and Pin to reset this password.

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
JAMA Psychiatry
Journal offers the latest science of anxiety, autism, depression, OCD, psychosis, psychotherapy, schizophrenia, and more. Full text access 1998 to current.
PsycINFO
Psychology and related fields, includes international material selected from periodicals written in over 25 languages since 1806. 1887-present, selected full-text.
Psychology Database
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests in Print
Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Includes all volumes.
Tests in Print
Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
60,000+ images and documents (both manuscripts and printed sources) of primary source material useful for investigations in many disciplines, including women’s and gender studies, history, literature, sociology and education. Includes a wide range of primary source material including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature that reveal attitudes towards gender.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Over 150 subject areas to choose from related to women's issues
Health & Wellness Resource Center (with Alternative Health Module)
Medical reference materials, includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Thomson Gale reference titles.1980-present
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Covering all areas of criminal justice, Criminal Justice Abstracts contains records selected from the most imporant sources within the discipline.
Web of Science
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. 1900 - present.

CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 580 journals.
Global Health
A public health database with more than 1.4 million records, including information from over 3,500 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses and electronic only publications from more than 150 countries.
OVID
Covering clinical medicine, behavioral & life sciences, life sciences, nursing, physical science & engineering.

Search Terms

The MSUB Library subscribes to many databases that you can use to find articles or other resources vital to your research. When searching websites, databases, and catalogs, you may want to try the following terms as keywords or subjects:

Addictions
Anxiety
Bullying
Children
Depression
Eating disorders
Education
Environment
Intelligence
Law and psychology
Mental health reform
Pain
Parenting
Personality
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Shyness
Sleep
Stress
Suicide
Therapy
Violence
Women and men

Database Tutorials

Other Resources

The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead; Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471220367
Providing psychologists, teachers, researchers, and students with complete reference for over 1,200 topics across four volumes, this resource in invaluable for both clinical and research settings. Coverage includes conditions, assessments, scales, diagnoses, treatments, and more, including biographies on psychologists of note and psychological organizations from across the globe.
Link to full-text is underneath "View Online."
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Gale (Editor); Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414412047
Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine, and sports; and career information.
Link to full text under "View Online."
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Alan E. Kazdin
Call Number: BF31.E52 2000
ISBN: 1557986509
The Encyclopedia of Psychology serves a remarkable variety of readers: students and their teachers in every area of psychology as well as in such related fields as sociology, social work, nursing, and allied health; researchers in the cognitive sciences and neurosciences; and clinicians and other mental health and human service professionals. It will be the definitive information, research, and reference source for many years to come.
Located on the first floor of the Library.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Yolanda Kaye Jackson (Editor)
ISBN: 1452265569
The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is the first authoritative guide to synthesize the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.
Link to full text under "View Online."
Encyclopedia of School Psychology by Steven W. Lee (Editor)
ISBN: 1452265402
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Link to full text under "View Online."
Companion Encyclopedia of Psychology by Andrew M. Colman (Editor)
Call Number: BF31.C66 1994
ISBN: 0415064465
A uniquely diverse discipline, it ranges from social psychology to biological aspects of behaviour, and from basic research to the applied professions. This Companion Encyclopedia covers all these main branches of psychological research and professional practice.
Located on the first floor of the Library.

PSYX 499: Psychology Senior Thesis: Literature Review

Article Databases

Search Terms

Database Tutorials

Other Resources

Created by Nicole Bernard (B.S. Psychology) and advised by Dr. Kameron Nelson