Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Turabian Citation Style Guide 8th Edition: B. Lectures

This guide will help you cite sources in the Turabian/Chicago Style.

About Citing Other Items

For each type of source in this guide, the general form and specific examples will be provided for both the Notes-Bibliography and the Author-Date style options of Turabian.

This information and several of the examples were drawn from A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations (8th edition). Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.

For further information, please ask your instructor or refer to the Turabian manual.

Lectures

For Notes-Bibliography style, cite unpublished lectures or papers by including a note and bibliographic entry. For the note, include the sponsorship, location, and date of meeting where the lecture or paper was presented and put this information in parentheses but exclude the parentheses in the bibliography. If item was accessed online, include the access date and URL (p. 194).

 

When using Author-Date style, include similar information as with the Notes-Bibliography style. The word unpublished is not required (p. 257).

 

General Format

  
 Notes-Bibliography Style (p. 194):
 
      Note: 
 
      Note Number. First Name of Author Last Name of Author, "Title of Lecture or Paper" (type of presentation, Place and Location of Presentation, Date of Meeting). access Date of Access, URL.
 
      Bibliographic Entry:
 

 

Examples
 
 
      Note:

 

      2. Gregory R. Crane, "Contextualizing Early modern Religion in a Digital World" (Lecture, Newberry Library, Chicago, September 16, 2011).

 

      Bibliographic Entry:


 General Format

  
Author-Date Style (pp. 257-8)
 

      Parenthetical Entry:

      (Author Last Name Year)
 
       Reference List Entry:
 
       
 
Examples
     
      Parenthetical Entry:
        
     (Crane 2011)

 

      Reference List Entry:
 
 

Learn More

Handouts