Education: Citation Management Tools

Some of our subscription databases provide assistance in the creation of citations in specific formats; however, you should always double-check the accuracy of the citations they provide.

MSUB provides support for the following Citation Styles. Please checkout the individual guides for specific details:

• APA 7th Edition
• Chicago 17th Edition
• MLA 9th Edition
• Turabian 9th Edition

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a free addon for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, and Safari. This citation manager is accessible via the web and is easy to use for capturing and saving citations from website sources. You can also add notations and other information to these saved citations to help with your organization. Features include:

• Automatic capture of citation information
• Storage of PDFs, files, images, links, and entire web pages
• Citation export in a specific format
• Compatible with MS Word and OpenOffice

Get help—

• Zotero Tutorials
• Zotero Help Guide (from Georgia State University)

 Many of the Library's databases permit you to export citations to Zotero and other citation managers.

RefWorks is a reference management service that supports the needs of students, staff, faculty and anyone doing academic research. With a streamlined user experience, full-text management and collaboration features, RefWorks gives users a tool that enables a more efficient and reliable process for producing research papers.

• You can create citations in RefWorks to copy to your document, or more conveniently, you can add them while working in your document using a RefWorks add-on. In addition, the add-ons enable you to manage the citations in the: delete, add, restyle, and so forth.
• Save to RefWorks is a browser bookmarklet that enables you to add references to your RefWorks account directly from your browser.

For more information on how to install and use RefWorks, please review this helpful guide.

RefWorks is incorporated into PowerSearch, and can be used with individual items. Once you've installed and set up your RefWorks account, you can simply click on the RefWorks option as shown in the item entry below.

Note: RefWorks is a subscription product available through MSUB. Once you leave MSUB, you will no longer have access to this account.

EndNote is reference management software with features to—

• Keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library.
• Synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers, an online library, and your iPad or iPhone through EndNote Sync. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)
• Set up a library sharing team and effortlessly collaborate with up to 400 co-authors and colleagues.
• Cite your references in word processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists.
• Create a personal database of references relevant to you, along with associated files.
• Insert references into a Word document and format them automatically in a citation style of your choice.
• De-duplicate references retrieved from multiple sources.
• Share references with others.

For set-up instructions, checkout these videos:

• Using EndNote in Windows
• Using EndNote for macOS

This helpful guide from UCL provides and in-depth overview of how to maximize EndNote for your academic research.