Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright and Fair Use: Adding Direct Links to E-Content in D2L

Information resources on copyright law and fair use guidelines for the MSUB community.

Database Links

The following popular databases provide permalinks or persistent links that can be directly copied and pasted into your D2L course shells. Please contact the Library if you need any assistance linking to database content in your D2L classes. When inserting links into the D2L content area, the best method is to use the "Insert Stuff" button on the D2L toolbar.

 

ebrary ebooks

EBSCO Databases (permalinks)

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Business Source Complete
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
  • ERIC
  • SPORTDiscus

The databases below provide a URL that needs to be doctored with the proxy prefix before placing it in a D2L course shell.  The proxy prefix should be added to the beginning of the URL that is supplied by the database. The proxy prefix is: http://proxybl.lib.montana.edu/login?url=


Adding the proxy prefix to the stable URL makes for an exceptionally long URL; however, it is the best way to link to the content in D2L.

 

Jstor (proxy prefix + stable URLs)

Gale Databases (proxy prefix + bookmark URL)

PsycINFO (proxy prefix + document URL, which is found at bottom of document)

 

Linking to E-Content in D2L

View the screenshots below to see examples of how to insert links to ebooks and ejournals into D2L. The examples are for JSTOR, eBrary ebooks, EBSCO databases, and Gale databases.

Note: There could be a rare instance in which a publisher may not allow instructors academic institutions to link to electronic content.

Linking to Articles in JSTOR

Linking to Articles in EBSCO Databases

Linking to Articles in Gale Databases