Find Books - History - Europe in the 20th Century - LibGuides at Montana State University Billings

Print Books

Here's a sampling of print books owned by the MSUB Library. If you need a book that is not owned by the Library, you can submit a request through Interlibrary Loan.

In War's Wake by Gerard Daniel Cohen
Call Number: D809.E85C65 2012

ISBN: 9780195399684

The end of the Second World War in Europe gave way to a gigantic refugee crisis. Thoroughly prepared by Allied military planners, the swift repatriation of millions of former forced laborers, concentration camp inmates and prisoners of war nearly brought this dramatic episode top a close. Yet in September 1945, the number of displaced persons placed under the guardianship of Allied armies and relief agencies in occupied Germany amounted to 1.5 million.
The Age of the Dictators by David G. Williamson
Call Number: D727.W55 2007

ISBN: 9780582505803

This comprehensive yet succinct history of twentieth century European Dictators stresses both the similarities and differences in each regime. Written for undergraduate students studying modern European History, this book profiles each dictator and sets them within the context of their time and world events.
Double Cross by Ben Macintyre
Call Number: D810.S8M237 2012

ISBN: 9780307888754

With the same depth of research, eye for the absurd and masterful storytelling that have made Ben Macintyre an international bestseller, Double Cross is a captivating narrative of the spies who wove a web so intricate it ensnared Hitler's army and carried thousands of D-Day troops across the Channel in safety.
Daily Life During the Holocaust by Eve Nussbaum Soumerai; Carol D. Schulz
Call Number: D804.195.S68 2009

ISBN: 9780313353086

This volume explores the daily lives of the Holocaust victims and their heroic efforts to maintain a normal existence under inhumane conditions. Readers will learn about the effects of pogroms, Jewish ghettoes, Nazi rule, and deportation on everyday tasks like going to school, practicing religion, or eating dinner.
A Companion to Europe, 1900-1945 by Gordon Martel (Editor)
Call Number: D424.C66 2006

ISBN: 1405106646

This volume brings together a distinguished group of international scholars to discuss the major debates in the study of early twentieth-century Europe.
Twentieth-Century Europe by P. M. H. Bell
Call Number: D424.B44 2006

ISBN: 0340740558

This insightful study explores the proposition that the idea of European unity makes sense when there is more that unites Europe than divides it, and then asks when that has been true during the past hundred years.
A History of Europe in the Twentieth Century by Eric Dorn Brose
Call Number: D424.B76 2005

ISBN: 0195135717

This last century of European history is situated between a violent and authoritarian past and the dawn of a more democratic and peaceful period--an era that may represent the future. Written in a vivid and accessible style, A History of Europe in the Twentieth Century examines the continent's descent into the turmoil of two world wars, the tense cold war standoff between the victors, and finally the beginning of a more tranquil and egalitarian age.
Longman Handbook of Twentieth Century Europe by Chris Cook; John Stevenson
Call Number: D424.C665 2003

ISBN: 0582235081

Covering the whole period from Tsarist Russia and Imperial Germany to the Balkan Wars of the 1990s and the final birth of the Euro in 2002, it provides a convenient user-friendly compendium of key fact and figures for the whole of Europe from the Atlantic to the Urals.

Search the Library

Power Search for books, articles, and more!

Suggested Subject Headings

A keyword search is the broadest type of search when looking for books in the library catalog. Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic or try using some of the following keywords below if you need inspiration. The search results will display both print, electronic, and audio books. To access electronic or audio books from off-campus, you will need to login with your MSUB credentials.

If you need to expand your search beyond the MSUB Library's collection, search the WorldCat database.

For Keyword or Subject searches, use terms such as:

Europe Emigration and immigration History 20th century

Europe history military

Europe kings and rulers biography

Europe politics and government

European Union

History 20th century

Holocaust

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Italy

Monarchy Europe History

Occupation Germany

Refugees Europe History 20th century

Restitution Europe

War and literature

War and society

War stories

War stories, English History and criticism

World War, 1914-1918

World War, 1939-1945

Ebooks

Ebook Central

Browse, bookmark, and read over 85,000 fully online ebooks! Credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources including university presses & other top publishers.
MontanaLibrary2Go

Free ebooks and audiobooks available through the Montana State Library. Use your NetID & password.
SpringerLINK eBooks
Over 100,000 books available online. Springer’s eBook Collection uses the portability, searchability, and unparalleled ease of access of PDF and HTML data formats to make access for researchers as convenient as possible.
TumbleBookLibrary

A curated database of children’s ebooks—over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes animated talking picture books, read-along chapter books, National Geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French. The collection features Graphic Novels.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

More options

E-Books

When accessing e-books from off-campus, you will be prompted to login with your MSUB credentials.

Driving Europe by Frank Schipper
Call Number: HE363 .E85 S3 2008*EBOOK

ISBN: 9789052603087

The vast majority of movements in Europe takes place on the road. Travelers use the car to explore parts of the continent on their holidays and goods travel large distances to reach consumers. Indeed, the twentieth century has deservedly been characterized as the century of the car. The situation looked very different around 1900. Driving Europe thus offers a highly original portrait of a Europe built on roads in the course of the twentieth century.
Women in Europe between the Wars by Angela Kershaw (Editor); Angela Kimyongur (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1587 W66 2007*EBOOK

ISBN: 0754656845

This volume's central assertion is that the 'forgetting' of European women's contributions during the period between the two world wars was not accidental but was ideologically motivated. Key concerns are canon formation. genre, literature and journalism, women's political activism, antifascism, the avant-garde, professional life, and women's involvement in voluntary associations. Bringing together scholars with diverse expertise, the collection invites connections and comparisons across the whole spectrum of women's political, social, and cultural activities.
Feminism and Motherhood in Western Europe 1890-1970 by Ann Taylor Allen
Call Number: HQ759 .A45 2005*EBOOK

ISBN: 1403981434

Allen highlights the feminist movements in Western Europe--primarily Britain, France, Germany, and the Netherlands--and explores the implications of the maternal role for women's aspirations to the rights of citizenship.
Strangers on the Western Front by Guoqi Xu
Call Number: D639 .L2 X8 2011*EBOOK

ISBN: 9780674049994

During World War I, Britain and France imported workers from their colonies to labor behind the front lines. The single largest group of support labor came not from imperial colonies, however, but from China. Xu Guoqi tells the remarkable story of the 140,000 Chinese men recruited for the Allied war effort.
Bread to Eat and Clothes to Wear by Gur Alroey
Call Number: DS135 .E83 A46 2011*EBOOK

ISBN: 9780814335192

In Bread to Eat and Clothes to Wear: Letters from Jewish Migrants in the Early Twentieth Century, author Gur Alroey fills this gap by considering letters written by Eastern European Jews embarking on their migration.
Hitler's Holy Relics by Sidney Kirkpatrick
Call Number: Audiobook

ISBN: 9781615730445

Based largely on the testimony and archives of Horn himself, this is an intriguing story for those interested in the plunder and fate of Europe's cultural artifacts during and after World War II.