Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Identify a U.S. Newspaper from a Place & Time
The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify what newspapers were available in a particular place and time for U.S. newspapers. Click on this link to search the Newspaper Directory.
Important Information About Dates of Coverage
If dates of coverage are included in an entry for a newspaper, the source may or may not include all issues within the listed time period. Also, the dates of coverage were correct when they were added to the entry, but may have changed since they were recorded.
Looking for a Newspaper?
Looking for a newspaper? The MSUB Library subscribes to several newspaper databases. You will need to login with your MSUB credentials to access from off-campus.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis- including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
New York Times (1851-2013) with Index (1851-1993)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2013
San Francisco Chronicle 1865-1922 (ProQuest)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1865 - 1922
Internet Sites with Links to Online Historical Newspapers