Primary Sources - History - Women in European History - LibGuides at Montana State University Billings

Locating Primary Sources

Primary sources can be found in:

For helpful tips on how to make effective use of primary sources, check out the "Making Sense of Evidence" website.

For even more information on using, finding, and evaluating primary sources on the web, click here.

Margaret Thatcher Archive
The scope of this site is not simply biographical, despite the name. We provide material on the issues that concerned Margaret Thatcher as well as the woman herself. Free access to thousands upon thousands of declassified secret documents from archives all over the world, something never done before for any political figure in any country.

Montana Memory Project
The Montana Memory Project provides access to digital collections and items related to Montana's cultural heritage and government. These collections and items document the Montana experience. Many of these items are digitized copies of historic material, some items are contemporary. All serve as a resource for education, business, pleasure, and lifelong learning.

Primary Sources: Modern European History
Research guide from Temple University. Some of the resources on this guide are only for Temple students.
Women in World History: Primary Sources
Women in World History responds by creating an online curriculum resource center to help high-school and college world history teachers and their students locate, analyze, and learn from primary sources dealing with women and gender in world history.
Womens History Sourcebook
From Fordham University

When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will need to login with your campus credentials.

Colonial State Papers
- This link opens in a new window
This growing collection offers insight into the colonial history of North America and the West Indies. It includes the National Archives collection CO 1-- papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade during 1574-1757. More than 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 45,000 bibliographic records give fascinating insight into British trade, history and overseas expansion between the 16th and 18th centuries.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Digital archives of maps, photographs, newspapers, manuscripts, books, and other primary sources in both Western and non-Western languages documenting the history of the 19th century. Covers topics in science, technology, politics, society, literature and the arts, among others.
Testaments to the Holocaust
Fully searchable accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school textbooks, limited circulation publications and rare serials in a uniquely flexible format, enabling detailed research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, propaganda, life in concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. *When you are in the database, click on "Collections."