LibGuides: Demographics & Statistics: United States

Demographics in Print

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013 by ProQuest Statistical Abstract of United States Staff Listing
Call Number: HA202.P7 2013 Reference
ISBN: 9781598885910
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You'll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources.

Everything you always wanted to know about the US

FEATURED WEBSITE

University of Pennsylvania - Historical Statistics - Research Guide

The best online source for historical statistics. Searching for U. S. historical statistics? This is the place to start. Reaching back into the past as far as records have been kept, this site has links that connect to a wide variety of databases. It also includes bibliographic records of print sources. It covers national and international historical statistics.

This website covers everything from housing and immigration to religion and agriculture. The Guide to History Databases on the left side of the home page has links to separate pages providing guidelines for in-depth research. Although some of the links are password protected, many are open and accessible to the public.

National Demographics Websites

1940 Census
Recently released access to the 1940 census, from the National Archives.
American Fact Finder
Another website by the Census Bureau with demographic information on a national, state, city, and community level. Provides fact sheets about the desired area, as well as population estimates, economic surveys, and more.
DataUSA
Visualizations of U.S. government data that allows side-by-side comparisons.
FedStats
Website providing access to official statistical information produced by the Federal Government. Includes all kinds of statistical data on numerous topics from a wide range of federal agencies.
SBDCnet
Provides links to finding general demographic information, as well as statistics by geographical area and subject.
Stats America
your portal to U.S. data.
U. S. Census Bureau
Government website providing demographic information gathered during the national census conducted every 10 years.
University of Pennsylvania - Historical Statistics
Provides links to a wide variety of databases that have national and international historical statistics.