History - HSTR 499: Senior Capstone Class (WWI): Primary Sources on the Web

Links to another research guide containing helpful links to WWI resources.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

This is a brief guide to researching British army records for a soldier who was discharged after the beginning of the First World War.

The 'Digitised Manuscripts' section of The British Library website provides access to fully digitised manuscripts held at the Library and their descriptions.

Soldier cartoons by Captain Bruce Bairnsfather.

Cartoons by Captain Bruce Bairnsfather

Cartoons by Captain Bruce Bairnsfather

CNN posted this series of photos noting the key events of the "war to end all wars."

Scanned documents and photos from cultural institutions worldwide.

The Royal Library in Copenhagen publishes selected parts of its collections on the Internet. Since 1997 the Manuscript Department has published complete digital facsimile editions of manuscripts.

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Swiss virtual manuscript library.

An extensive list, by country, of websites with European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe.

From the Library of Congress and Veterans History Project

Black-and-white photographs mainly of the Western Front during the First World War. Official British war photographers took many of them for propaganda purposes. Unless otherwise stated, titles are the photographs' original captions. From the papers of Field Marshal (Earl) Haig (1861-1928). The Haig Papers also contain Douglas Haig’s diaries.

The Great War Archive contains over 6,500 items contributed by the general public between March and June 2008. Every item originates from, or relates to, someone's experience of the First World War, either abroad or at home. Contributions were received via a special website and also through a series of open days at libraries and museums throughout the country.

First-hand accounts, diary entries, and personal narratives by survivors who relate a given aspect of the war, be it trench conditions, or their part in a specific attack or action, as well as the testimony of such participants as nurses and chaplains

This section profiles the more renowned authors and contains samples of their work.

About the First World War Centenary

One hundred years on, we are all connected to the First World War, either through our own family history, the heritage of our local communities or because of its long-term impact on society and the world we live in today.

From 2014 to 2018, across the world, nations, communities and individuals of all ages will come together to mark, commemorate and remember the lives of those who lived, fought and died in the First World War.

IWM (Imperial War Museums) is leading the First World War Centenary Partnership, a network of local, regional, national and international cultural and educational organisations.

Together, through the First World War Centenary Programme, a vibrant global programme of cultural events and activities, and online resources, we are connecting current and future generations with the lives, stories and impact of the First World War.

Join us and take part in this global commemoration.

The Serving Soldier will eventually provide access to thousands of nationally significant historical archives revealing the broad interests, talents and accomplishments of servicemen and their families at the turn of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

From the National Archives

The bulk of this collection consists of WWI army enlistments, organized into groups by surname. The collection also includes marines, marine officers, and nurses, as well as dishonorable discharges, fraudulent enlistments, and enemy aliens. This card file is part of the Montana Adjutant General's Office Records 1889-1959 (RS 223).

Links to another research guide with links to many primary sources related to WWI.

These photographs form part of the papers of Field Marshall Earl Haig (1861-1928), held by the National Library of Scotland.

General access point to all digital collections as Oxford University.

Digitized manuscripts, charters, incunabula, local histories of the Palatinate, university documents, etc. from the University's collections.

From February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919, by order of General John J. Pershing, the United States Army published a newspaper for its forces in France, The Stars and Stripes. This online collection, presented by the Serial and Government Publications Division of the Library of Congress, includes the complete seventy-one-week run of the newspaper's World War I edition. Search or browse by date or issue.

Princeton University Library's large digital collection of pamphlets documenting World War I in Europe. These pamphlets were collected by the library, starting from the outbreak of the war in 1914, as part of a larger European War Collection, later renamed the Western European Theater Political Pamphlet Collection. They cover a broad range of topics including the economy, the press, the military, arms, and territorial disputes.

This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.