Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Images
Images from sources on this page are available for use on the open web. You are free to use these images in multimedia projects, websites, blogs, portfolios, etc, that are open and available to the public. When you use these images, you do not need to restrict access to your class or academic environment.
Always read and comply with the use restrictions for specific image sources. Always cite images someone else created.
Images should not be sold or used in commercial products or for commercial purposes.
Creative Commons Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. It searches more than 300 million images! Click the image to begin searching.
Flickr Creative Commons
Flickr contains millions of photographs shared by Flickr users under Creative Commons
licenses, and is a strong source for contemporary travel, nature, people, and design
Several overlays to Flickr offer enhanced search functionality and additional features.
British Library Flickr
The British Library's collection of images on Flickr are taken from books it has its collection from the 17th, 18th and 19th Century – so well out of copyright – and are vaguely arranged by theme: such as book covers, cycling, illustrated lettering, comic art, ships or children's book illustration. There's also a collection of 'Highlights' that's a good place to start if you just want a general browse
Enhanced search of Flickr content. Limit to Creative Commons.
Flickr Creative Commons
Flickr's Creative Commons portal. Browse by license type or choose "Advanced Search" to limit to Creative Commons content.
Search overlay to Flickr. Retrieves images more images by using related tags. Select "Advanced" to limit to Creative Commons content.
PhotoPin helps bloggers find photos for their blog and makes adding them to their post fast and easy. PhotoPin uses the Flickr API and searches creative commons photos to use for your blog. (Note: we are not associated with Flickr in any way, other than powering our search results using their API.)
Searches only Creative Commons content in Flickr. Additional tools for blogs and websites, including resizing tool, photo credit builder, and code generator.
Open Access Photographs & Historical Images
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online
Images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain.
Free (do whatever you want) high-resolution photos.
Historical and contemporary images contributed by participants. Millions of high-resolution images of art, architecture, design, people, historical events, diagrams, maps, and more.
Websites with Free Images
These sites offer at least some images for free general use. These sites also contain advertising and/or offer images for sale.
Read each site's conditions for use carefully. Different images from the same site may have different use restrictions, too. Make sure you know what they are.
Free stock photo site powered by Shopify.
is an online resource providing free public domain photo packs. It collaborates with independent photographers to deliver emotionally-driven photos for your project.
Hosts over 1000 free food pictures
This is one of the biggest repositories of free images and graphics that you can use for almost any purpose. You do however need to sign-in to download the images. The site, previously hosted on the schx.hu domain, is now part of Getty Images.
Free Nature Stock
Royalty free nature stock photos
offers users, high quality graphic designs: exclusive illustrations and graphic resources. It operates on a freemium business model which means, the majority of the resources offered at Freepik can be used for free, only having to credit the author of the illustration to Freepik. In addition, for a small fee, you can subscribe to the Premium plan and use the illustrations without any accreditation whatsoever.
Free Stock Photos
Over 10,000 images, browsable by category. Lots of clip art and clear photographs.
is a collection of free high-resolution pictures you can use on your personal and commercial projects, free of copyright restrictions. What I really like about this site is many of the images are quirky and fun — no cheesy stock images here!
Over 3,000 images under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. Completely free to use for personal or commercial use with no attribution required.
Free, high-quality images for personal or commercial use. Each comes with a helpful color palette so you can plan your visuals accordingly.
Life of Pix
Free high resolution stock images donated to the public domain by Leeroy Advertising Agency in Montreal. Their sister site Life of Vids offers royalty-free videos, clips, and loops for you to use to your heart’s content.
Search image tags or browse by category. MorgueFile license clearly explained. Affiliated with dreamstime stock photo.
Over 3,800 high resolution photos collated from other free image sites. Also has a library of stock videos under the CC0 license.
Here you’ll find exceptionally high-quality photos for your personal and commercial use. The pictures have been shot by the site owner himself and all he requests for in return is proper attribution.
All the images on Pixabay are available under the CC0 license and thus can be used anywhere. Like Flickr, there’s an option to browse photographs by camera model as well
Public Domain Archive
This is an impressive online repository of public domain images that are neatly organized in categories. It contains only high quality photos though the collection is limited at this time.
Public Domain Photos
The website contains thousands of royalty free images that can be used in both personal and commercial projects but with attribution. Unlike other sites that merely curate content, the images found here have been clicked by their in-house photographers.
prides itself on having the most diverse collection of stock photos on the web. It wants to change the face of stock photography by creating design resources that reflect today’s society as it really is. To this end it has started the (one) world face project with the ultimate goal of photographing people from every nation in the world.
created by web designer Daniel Nanescu, who wanted to offer his photos and videos free for personal and commercial use.
Creative Commons photos that do not require attribution. Images can be filtered by date, what's trending, number of view or downloads, and amount of keyword searches.
Free stock photo community where artists can share their own photos and artwork. Over 35,000 royalty-free images, pictures, illustrations, and textures.
Stock photography contributed by members. Owned by Getty Images & affiliated wtih iStockphoto.
Free (do whatever you want) hi-resolution photos. Subscribe and you will get 10 new photos every 10 days.
About Creative Commons
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that works "to increase the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and
scientific content) in “the commons” — the body of work that is
available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing,
and remixing." (http://creativecommons.org/about/what-is-cc).
Creative Commons licenses provide a way for people to share their work and make it available for others to build on and reuse.
Check out the Creative Commons website for more information and details about CC licenses.
These sites search multiple other sites for Creative Commons-licensed images. These sites may have ads or offer fee-based services as well.
Includes photos from flickr, Wikimedia Commons, morgueFile, and more, with links to original locations. Advanced search allows you to search only the sites you specify.