Skip to Main Content

Literary Awards: Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards

This guide gives a listing of some of the literary award winners.

Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards

The Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards program honors Black writers in the United States and around the globe for literary achievement. Introduced in 2001, the Legacy Award was the first national award presented to Black writers by a national organization of Black writers. It is granted for fiction, nonfiction and poetry, selected in a juried competition.


Learn more at the Hurston/Wright Foundation website.

View Winners by Year