Skip to Main Content

Literary Awards: Jewish Book Council Awards

This guide gives a listing of some of the literary award winners.

National Jewish Book Awards

Inau­gu­rat­ed in 1950, the Nation­al Jew­ish Book Awards is the longest-run­ning North Amer­i­can awards pro­gram of its kind and is rec­og­nized as the most pres­ti­gious. The Awards are intend­ed to rec­og­nize authors, and encour­age read­ing, of out­stand­ing Eng­lish-lan­guage books of Jew­ish interest.


Awards are pre­sent­ed in over eigh­teen cat­e­gories, and the win­ning authors are cel­e­brat­ed at an annu­al gala in the year fol­low­ing the pub­li­ca­tion of the books under con­sid­er­a­tion. Past notable win­ners include Chaim Grade, Deb­o­rah Lip­stadt, Bernard Mala­mud, Michael Oren, Chaim Potok, Philip Roth, Elie Wiesel, Jonathan Safran Foer, Deb­o­rah Dash Moore, and Sandy Eisen­berg Sasso.


To learn more, visit the Jewish Book Council website.

View Winners by Year