Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
America: History & Life
U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
American History, 1493- 1945
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s archive of letters, diaries, maps pamphlets, printed books, newspapers and ephemera sheds light on the political, economic and social history of the United States up until the 20th Century. The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.
American Indian Histories & Culture
Wide variety of materials relating to American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico, from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Covers pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
American Indian Movement & Native American Radicalism Archive
Digital archive of 14,000+ FBI documents detailing the development of the American Indian Movement and the rise of Native American radicalism. *When you are in the database, click "Collections."
American Periodicals Series Online
American Periodicals Series Online™ (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
From early topographical sketches and pioneers’ accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his ‘Wild West’ stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.
Repository of nearly 2 million digital images and media.
Chronicling America (Montana Newspapers)
80 newspapers from Montana are freely available for viewing. This digital collection is sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Colonial America Archives
Millions of primary source documents related to life in the American colonies from the British National Archives in London.
Early American Newspapers (Series 1, 2, 6 & 10)
Hundreds of early American Newspapers, covering colonial Period through WWI (1690-1900).
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Selected full-text.
Contains millions of primary source documents in these History Vaults: American Politics & Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and American History, 1775-1915; Struggle for Women's Rights; World War II (Documents in Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees); and Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
A digital archive collection of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, basic science, life sciences, and physical and applied sciences. Often starts with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s).
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
100% full-text, user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
The Serial Set contains House and Senate Documents as well as House and Senate Reports. The reports are typically from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations.
Can't find the article you are looking for? We can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan. Just click HERE.
Periodicals & Online News
The following is a list of periodicals that we have at the MSU Billings Library, and they are located on the third floor:
American Indian Art Magazine
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
Journal of American Indian Education
Native Studies Review
Tribal College Journal of American Indian Higher Education
Winds of Change
Char Koosta News (We keep each issue for six months, and it’s the official news publication of the Flathead Indian Nation.)