The resources on this guide were prepared to help students taking the class: COMX 111: Introduction to Public Speaking
Image attribution: By Charlie Llewellin from Austin, USA (Conan O'Brien) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Need help choosing a topic for your speech?
Explore some of the resources below:
Watch this short video for tips on how to brainstorm a topic!
Now that you have selected a topic, it's time to think about your search strategy.
Understand Your Assignment:
Make sure you understand your assignment. What is the purpose of the speech? How long does the speech need to be? What sources can you use? How many sources do you need? Are there any date restrictions on the sources that you use?
Where should you look for sources? The Library's Power Search simultaneously searches all the library's databases for books, articles, videos, government documents & more:
Or you can search individual databases by subject. Searching individual databases can allow for a more focused search than searching all of the databases simultaneously.
IMPORTANT: Sign-in with your NetID & Password if you are off-campus. Just watch for the prompt to sign in.
After selecting a topic, develop a list of terms to use while searching for information. Watch this brief video to learn more:
Now that you have your topic and list of keywords to search, use this list of popular library databases to find information for your speech. The library's databases have thousands of academic journal articles relevant to your assignment.
Click the Power Search image below to search all of the library databases simultaneously for books (print & electronic), articles, media, government documents, and more:
Or search individual databases such as these:
Click here for a complete list of the library's databases by subject.
Need to find some demographic or statistical information for your speech? The resource below the arrow has links to sites offering all types of demographic data and/or stats, including city, county, state, census, United States, International, and by topic.
When evaluating the sources you selected for your project, there are many things to consider. Refer back to your assignment to make sure you have the required types and number of sources. Watch this 2 minute video from Western University to learn how to evaluate your sources.
Use this table to review the concepts from the video:
|Criteria||Questions to Ask|