Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print & Ebooks @ MSUB
Sign-in with your NetID & Password to view ebooks:
Miscellaneous Online Journals & Databases
Most of these resources are only available for MSUB students. Sign-in with your NetID & Password when prompted.
Journal of Popular Music Studies
A peer-reviewed journal covering all aspects of popular music. Past issues have included academic papers about punk and punk culture and its connection to the wider study of popular music. Sign in with your NetID & Password
Popular Music and Society
A peer-reviewed journal with articles examining a wide variety of popular music genres and their impact on society. Sign in with your NetID & Password.
The RojaRo (Rock, Jazz, Roots) Index is free to search and includes references to articles, interviews, reviews, fanzines, and more. This is only an index that covers 1992-present.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Selected full-text.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Contains millions of primary source documents in these History Vaults: American Politics & Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and American History, 1775-1915; Struggle for Women's Rights; World War II (Documents in Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees); and Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
Life Magazine Archive
This archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. The magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions.
New York Times (1851-2013) with Index (1851-1993)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2013
Struggle for Women's Rights, 1880-1990: Organizational Records
The Women's Studies modules in History Vault consist of records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations as well as personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement. There are two modules in this category. The first module consists of the records of the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The second module is consist of manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College. These collections focus on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
Time Magazine Archive
The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.
Entire run of Vogue from the first issue in 1892 to the present. Entire issues reproduced, including articles, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Perfect for art, fashion, history, advertising, and design research.
Punk & Post Punk Journal
Punk & Post-Punk is a peer-reviewed journal for academics, artists, journalists and the wider cultural industries. While we don't have full-text access to this journal at MSU Billings, you can click on the image and browse the table of contents. If you see an article you'd like to read, contact the Interlibrary Loan department at 406-657-1666.
You can also search for article citations from the journal, Punk & Post-Punk in the Academic Search Complete database. Look at the example below to see how to limit your search to articles in Punk & Post-Punk. Once you put the journal name in, you can add additional search terms specific to your research project. Then you can order the article via interlibrary loan.