Various collections have been acquired by Montana State University Billings, Library from the time it first opened known as Eastern Montana Normal School. In 1930, we purchased sixty-six ledger drawings forming the Barstow collection. The next large collection purchased in 1957 was Dudley White’s personal library, which contains such rare books and items as Patrick Gass’s journal, The Covered Wagon by Hough, ledgers from Virginia City and Bannack, MT., drawings by Will James, and photographs by Barry. During the 1970’s, Mayor Willard Fraser donated his papers to us from his terms as Mayor.
In 2003, the library acquired the research library from a well-known Western writer, Terry C. Johnston. His collection contains approximately 750 books on fur trade, American Indians (such as Nez Perce, Apache, Sioux), American Indian Wars, Custer, general American western history, pamphlets, various and incomplete collections of journals, his research notes, and a signed manuscript.
The University Archives contains the pamphlets, memos, meeting minutes, newsletters, yearbooks, student handbooks, directories, photos, media releases, and loose papers from 1927 to the present that are available for students, faculty, and researchers to use. The student newspapers and yearbooks have been digitized and are accessible online.
Schedule a time to visit the Special Collections & Archives room by contacting the Library Director, Eileen Wright.
Whenever possible, the Montana State University Billings Library provides information about copyright in our digital collections records. We often do not own the rights in materials, and as such do not grant permissions for their use. Permissions and fees may be required from the individual copyright holder for uses beyond what is allowed based on U.S. Copyright Law.
Please attempt to determine if an item is protected by copyright and follow any copyright or use restrictions when applicable. Written permission from the copyright holder is required for reproduction of protected items beyond what is allowed by fair use or other exemptions. These materials may be used for personal use, research, teaching (including distribution to classes), or any "fair use" as defined by U.S. copyright laws.
For more information please contact Eileen Wright, Library Director, or Nicole Bernard, Research & Instruction Librarian.
Montana State University Billings Library allows the use of artificial intelligence (AI) technologies and tools with its digital collections for noncommercial educational, scholarly, and research purposes only.
Users are not permitted to use content for creating commercial products or proprietary services and should avoid actions that will disrupt the functionality, integrity, or accessibility of the content, such as altering metadata, reformatting digital files, or impeding access for other users.