The MSUB Library subscribes to many databases which contain thousands of full-text articles. When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSUB credentials. (If you don't know your Library password, you can change it here.) Different databases have different appearances and user interfaces. In general, most offer similar search functionality.
Spend some time brainstorming keywords & search terms to improve your search results. When you find a good article, look at its Reference or Works Cited list because this can often lead you to other good sources.
Keyword searching is the default in most databases
One way to find out if a journal is academic, scholarly, or refereed is to look up the journal name in Ulrich's Online. Also, when searching the Library's databases, limit your search to "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" journals.
Searches can be limited to scholarly and peer-reviewed journals in most databases.
Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading journals. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
A digital archive collection of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, basic science, life sciences, and physical and applied sciences. Often starts with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s).
100% full-text, user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Full-text database covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.