Skip to Main Content

History - Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History: Maps

A collection of pages that include primary sources for the study of U.S. history

Internet Sites With Maps

American Revolution and Its Era: Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies, 1750-1789
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
An interactive atlas of county boundary changes for all states. This isn't a primary source, but could be very useful.
Boston Streets: Mapping Directory Data
Collection of Digitized Kansas Maps
David Rumsey Map Collection
eHistory: Maps & Images
Federal Home Owners' Loan Corporation (HOLC) Maps (Redlining Maps) for Ohio Cities
Federal Newsmaps (WW II)
Harvard Map Collection: Digital Maps
Historical Map & Chart Collection (U.S. Office of Coast Survey)
Historical Map Archive (University of Alabama)
Historical Map Collection (University of Delaware)
Historical Topographic Maps (U.S. Geological Survey)
Indiana Historic Atlases
Lewis and Clark Expedition Maps
Library of Congress: Digital Map Collections
Mapping the French Empire in North America
Maps of the Pimeria: Early Cartography of the Southwest
Maryland Map Collection
National Geologic Map Database (USGS)
Nevada in Maps
North Carolina Maps
NYCMap
Uses aerial photographs to show how areas of NY City have change from 1924 to 2010.
Old Maps Online
Panoramic Maps, 1847-1929
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection: Historical
Perry-Castaneda Map Collection: Other Historical U.S. Map Sites
Railroad Maps, 1828-1900
Rare Map Collection (University of Georgia)
Rochambeau Map Collection (18th c.)
Southern Nevada and Las Vegas: History in Maps

Sanborn (and other) Fire Insurance Maps