History - Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: N

This is only an index. The full text is not available.

Most issues are from 1995-1996.

French language newspaper

This is only an index. There is no full text.

Student newspaper for Princeton University

Originally published in Italian; later in English

A national newspaper for Americans who were deaf.

German-Jewish emigre journal

In the 1890's there are some issues of the Evening Journal, published in New Bedford, MA, mixed in with the Corning Journal.

African American newspaper; there are only a few issues of this newspaper which was published by Frederick Douglass

LGBT newspaper

African American newspaper

This site includes only articles about Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin.

African American newspaper (this was the first African American owned and operated newspaper in the U.S.)

Anti-slavery newspaper

This file is titled General Advertiser and includes issues of the General Advertiser, published in Philadelphia, PA 1792-1810.

Scattered issues

Includes a variety of newspapers from the Hudson River Valley, both community newspapers and newspapers from Vassar College

Student newspaper of Ithaca College

French language newspaper

French language newspaper

French language newspaper

African American newspaper

Some articles are free, but you must pay for the full text of other articles. The terms of payment are explained on the home page of this site.

Allows you to browse each issue, flipping through the pages, from the first issue Sept. 18, 1851 - Dec. 30, 1922.

This is only an index. There is no full text.

African American newspaper; there are only a few issues of this newspaper that was published by Frederick Douglass

Also know as: Old Fulton New York Postcards
This is a very large collection of New York newspapers. To see a complete list, see: http://fultonhistory.com/Fulton.html

Student newspaper from the State University of New York at Buffalo

Student newspaper of the University of Albany

Student newspaper from Bennett College, a historically black college

Student newspaper
A newspaper of the Black Student Movement at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

African American newspaper

Some early issues titled The Davidson Dispatch

The first newspaper known to have been published in the northern Dakota Territory