It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History - Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: Home
A guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.
The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify United States newspapers that were available in a particular place and time. Click on this link to connect to the Newspaper Directory.
Important Information about Dates of Coverage
If dates of coverage are included in an entry for a newspaper, the source may or may not include all issues within the listed time period. Also, the dates of coverage were correct when they were added to the entry, but may have changed since they were recorded.
Newspapers Are Arranged by State
To find the newspaper you want, click on the first letter of the alphabet for the state in which it was published.
Example: To find the Toledo Blade, click on the "O" for Ohio.
Pages That Link to Internet Sites with Newspapers from Many States.
Index of newspaper articles about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints or about Utah. The articles are from newspapers throughout the U.S. The articles are not available full text in this database.
Search by keyword, newspaper title or by city, county or state to locate titles. From your search result, click on the link(s) to connect to the digital newspaper(s). In many cases, this content is keyword searchable, depending on the hosting organization.
NewspaperCat currently links to over 1,500 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US and Caribbean newspapers with archival digital content as possible. Plans are to expand the Catalog as newly digitized newspaper titles are located.