Primary Sources - History - HSTR 462: The Holocaust in Nazi Occupied Europe - LibGuides at Montana State University Billings

Lecture by Holocaust survivor Eva Mozes Kor (Billings, MT)

Eva Kor was a twin, and she and her sister Mirium suffered horrific, demented experiments of the infamous Dr. Josef Mengele. Eva retells her story and shares her life lessons with a packed house at West High School in Billings, Montana on March 24, 2015. The lecture is a little over an hour long.

Locating Primary Sources

Primary sources can be found in:

Collections housed in libraries or archives
Digital format through online databases
Freely available collections on the Internet
Published in books and microforms

For helpful tips on how to make effective use of primary sources, check out the "Making Sense of Evidence" website.

For even more information on using, finding, and evaluating primary sources on the web, click here.

Internet Primary Sources

Azrieli Series of Holocaust Survivors Memoirs
A list of books provided by the Azrieli Foundation, which also includes video interviews with the Holocaust survivors. Check with your library to see if the books are available to borrow.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. Part of Yale University's department of Manuscripts and Archives, the archive is located at Sterling Memorial Library
Internet Modern History Sourcebooks
Thousands of Internet resources compiled by Fordham University.

Montana Memory Project
The Montana Memory Project provides access to digital collections and items related to Montana's cultural heritage and government. These collections and items document the Montana experience. Many of these items are digitized copies of historic material, some items are contemporary. All serve as a resource for education, business, pleasure, and lifelong learning.

U. S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
The US Holocaust Memorial Museum’s oral history collection is one of the largest and most diverse resources for Holocaust testimonies in the world. In addition to conducting interviews itself, the Museum actively collects interviews from individuals as well as other institutions.

The collection contains interviews with survivors of the Holocaust and persecution by the Nazis and their collaborators. Interviewees include Jews, Roma (Gypsies), Polish Gentiles, Jehovah’s Witnesses, homosexuals, and political prisoners. Testimonies of liberators, non-Jewish witnesses, and rescuers are also included in the collection.
Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Resource Center
The Center has a large collection of sources from the Yad Vashem Archives, including various kinds of original Holocaust-era documentation provided in English including letters and diaries written by Jews during the Holocaust, numerous photographs and original documents. The Holocaust Resource Center serves as a repository for the collection of the testimonies of Holocaust survivors that have been collected at Yad Vashem over the years, as well as excerpts from memoirs written by survivors after the war. The Resource Center supports this collection of primary sources with excerpts from research studies, as well as, works of art, and historical maps and charts

Library Database Primary Sources

To use these databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your campus credentials.

Testaments to the Holocaust
Fully searchable accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school textbooks, limited circulation publications and rare serials in a uniquely flexible format, enabling detailed research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, propaganda, life in concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. *When you are in the database, click on "Collections."

U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- This link opens in a new window
The Serial Set contains House and Senate Documents as well as House and Senate Reports. The reports are typically from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations.

History Vault
Contains millions of primary source documents in these History Vaults: American Politics & Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and American History, 1775-1915; Struggle for Women's Rights; World War II (Documents in Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees); and Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

History - HSTR 462: The Holocaust in Nazi Occupied Europe: Primary Sources

Lecture by Holocaust survivor Eva Mozes Kor (Billings, MT)

Locating Primary Sources

Internet Primary Sources

Library Database Primary Sources