LibGuides: Women's Suffrage Movement: Articles, News, & More

Database Searching Tips

The MSUB Library subscribes to many databases which contain thousands of full-text articles. When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSUB credentials. Different databases have different appearances and user interfaces. In general, most offer similar search functionality.

Spend some time brainstorming keywords & search terms to improve your search results. When you find a good article, look at its Reference list or Works Cited page because these can often lead you to other good sources.

Keyword searching is the default in most databases

Use important nouns as search words
Try using synonyms of your search words to increase results
Avoid common words: "a," "an," "the," "to," "of," etc.
Use double quotations around search terms to search for an exact phrase. Example: "Korean War"

JSTOR Tutorial

Miscellaneous Items

Jailed for Freedom by Doris Stevens
A digital reproduction available from the Open Collections Program at Harvard University, Women and work collection. This is an account of the 1913-1919 campaign of American suffragists.

History Databases

Find articles, news, reviews, and more in these databases. Use your NetID and password to log-in.

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.

Chronicling America
Search historic Montana newspapers, covering 1800s-present.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910
60,000+ images and documents (both manuscripts and printed sources) of primary source material useful for investigations in many disciplines, including women’s and gender studies, history, literature, sociology and education. Includes a wide range of primary source material including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature that reveal attitudes towards gender.

Early American Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Colonial period through WWI

Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800- 1920
This collection studies American social, cultural, and popular history during the 19th and early 20th centuries. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Gerritsen Collection
Cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

History Vault
JSTOR
New York Times (1851-2018)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2018
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Digital archives of maps, photographs, newspapers, manuscripts, books, and other primary sources in both Western and non-Western languages documenting the history of the 19th century. Covers topics in science, technology, politics, society, literature and the arts, among others.

Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window

San Francisco Chronicle 1865-1922 (ProQuest)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1865 - 1922
Struggle for Women's Rights, 1880-1990: Organizational Records
The Women's Studies modules in History Vault consist of records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations as well as personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement. There are two modules in this category. The first module consists of the records of the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The second module is consist of manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College. These collections focus on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.