Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Textbook Collections
The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation of books that are built specifically for use as free or low-cost options for education. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each repository has a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.
- The University of Minnesota Open Textbook Catalog (https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/)
- The Montana Academic Library Consortium TRAILS (Treasure State Academic Information & Library Services) is a member of Open Textbook Network.
- This site is a clearinghouse of links to books housed in various locations, including OpenStax, Saylor and others, with over 140 books.
- To be on the list, the books must be used by author's institution and by at least one other institution.
- OpenStax College (http://openstaxcollege.org) These books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. These books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want create a custom solution for a course.
- Supported by CNX/Rice University and foundation grants.
- Current books include: Anatomy and Physiology (adapted by OU Faculty Dr. Heather Ketchum), Biology (majors), Concepts of Biology (non-majors), Pre-Calculus, College Algebra & Trigonometry, College Algebra, College Physics (algebra-based), Principles of Economics (Read more from Senior Content Expert Steven A. Greenlaw), Macro-Economics, Micro-Economics, Introduction to Sociology (adopted by OU Faculty Dr. Kelly Damphousse), Introductory Statistics (Read about the author/editor Barbara Illowsky), Psychology, U.S. History
- British Columbia Open Campus Textbook list
- This collection includes texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative (the plan to have 40 books by September of 2014) as well as books from other sources.
- You can find out more about the BC textbook project.
- Lumen Learning (https://lumenlearning.com/courses?)
- Lumen provides open courses in a variety of high-demand subjects and disciplines. These courses are collections of high-quality OER, not necessarily as a traditional texbook. You can use them as-is or modify them to fit your instructional style and students’ needs.
- HathiTrust (http://www.hathitrust.org)
- HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. HathiTrust materials can be searched through the MSUB Libraries.
- The Directory of OpenAccess Books (http://www.doabooks.org/doab)
- This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
- Saylor.org Bookshelf (http://www.saylor.org/books/)
- This collection includes books written specifically for Saylor.org as well as the original editions of the FlatWorldKnowledge textbooks (subsequent editions are only offered for purchase).
- You can view all their resources by subject area in their library.
- Flatworld Knowledge (http://catalog.flatworldknowledge.com)
- Flatworld provides faculty customizable books for a relatively low cost to students. Access to the content is primarily through their website. Flatworld is strongest in business.
- Many of their original books are available under a more open Creative Commons license by-nc-sa 3.0, (the newer books from their site require student purchase and use of the Flatworld site).
- Open Access Publishing in European Networks (http://www.oapen.org/home)
- The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN has books in multiple languages and covering a large variety of topics.
- There is a range of licensing for the books, but each books is clearly marked with the license.
- The National Academies Press (http://www.nap.edu)
- Unlike some of the open textbook initiatives these books are publicly available but not openly licensed. You can link to the content, and even link directly to specific pages. However, you cannot remix and redistribute the content.
This is not a complete list, and this list will be periodically updated.
The LibreText Project, a leading, non-commercial open textbook organization initiated at the University of California, Davis, announced today that it is receiving the $5 million Open Textbooks Pilot Program award from the Department of Education. Learn more about it here:
Open textbooks through the University of California, Davis. Includes college-level content for 12 disciplines.