LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Open Textbook Collections

Open Textbook Collections

The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation of books that are built specifically for use as free or low-cost options for education. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each repository has a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.

The University of Minnesota Open Textbook Catalog
This site is a clearinghouse of links to books housed in various locations, including OpenStax, Saylor and others, with over 140 books.

more... less...

The Montana Academic Library Consortium TRAILS (Treasure State Academic Information & Library Services) is a member of Open Textbook Network. To be on the list, the books must be used by author's institution and by at least one other institution.
OpenStax College
These books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. These books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want create a custom solution for a course.

more... less...

Supported by CNX/Rice University and foundation grants.
Current books include: Anatomy and Physiology, Biology, Concepts of Biology, Pre-Calculus, College Algebra & Trigonometry, College Algebra, College Physics, Principles of Economics, Macro-Economics, Micro-Economics, Introduction to Sociology, Introductory Statistics, Psychology, U.S. History
British Columbia Open Campus Textbook List
This collection includes texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative (the plan to have 40 books by September of 2014) as well as books from other sources.
Lumen Learning
Lumen provides open courses in a variety of high-demand subjects and disciplines. These courses are collections of high-quality OER, not necessarily as a traditional texbook. You can use them as-is or modify them to fit your instructional style and students’ needs.
The Directory of Open Access Books
This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
Saylor.org Academy
This collection includes books written specifically for Saylor.org as well as the original editions of the FlatWorldKnowledge textbooks (subsequent editions are only offered for purchase).
Flatworld Knowledge
Flatworld provides faculty customizable books for a relatively low cost to students. Access to the content is primarily through their website. Flatworld is strongest in business.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN has books in multiple languages and covering a large variety of topics.

more... less...

There is a range of licensing for the books, but each books is clearly marked with the license.
The National Academies Press
Unlike some of the open textbook initiatives these books are publicly available but not openly licensed. You can link to the content, and even link directly to specific pages. However, you cannot remix and redistribute the content.
LibreTexts
LibreTexts is the adaptable, user-friendly non-profit open education resource platform that educators trust for creating, customizing, and sharing accessible, interactive textbooks, adaptive homework, and ancillary materials.

This list is not complete and will be continually updated.

Public Domain Book Collections

HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. HathiTrust materials can be searched through the MSUB Libraries.

Project Gutenberg
Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for you to enjoy.

The Online Books Page
Listing over 3 million free books on the web.

Open Educational Resources (OER): Open Textbook Collections

Open Textbook Collections

Public Domain Book Collections

Guide Attribution