On this page you will find several open Language textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.
The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive. The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here.
|
Elementary French I & II -Carnegie Mellon University Elementary French I is a carefully sequenced and highly interactive presentation of French language and culture in a media-rich course environment including new video shot in France and Québec with young professional actors. It is designed to be used as a full course of study. To successfully use this course, you should be a motivated student with a sincere desire to learn about French language and francophone cultures, and be comfortable with computer technologies. The time commitment will typically average 6-8 hours per week. -Carnegie Mellon University Content in this lesson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 3.0 License.
|
 |
|
Find more Languages textbooks in these collections
|
|
|
The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors. A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. |
 |
|
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services. -College Open Textbooks |
 |
|
The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus |
 |
|
MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources. |
 |
|
Learning Resources for 46 Languages -Open Culture This list features resources for learning 46 different languages from various providers including Carnegie Mellon, BBC, and Yale among many others. Featured content includes website-based material, audio recordings, flashcards, and Podcasts for learning Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Thai among 39 others. Websites linked to from this list feature various copyright policies. |
 |
|
Gateway to Chinese -University of Texas at Austin This site offers a collection of free interactive language learning resources for beginning Mandarin Chinese. Students now have the option to practice pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, listening, and reading skills at their own convenience. Gateway to Chinese resources are designed to give students the valuable feedback they need to improve language skills in the critical early stages of learning. An extensive number of interactive exercises allow students to practice what they learn. With these tools, instructors can utilize valuable classroom time to do what they do best: teach! Download chapters in PDF form here. Developer: Wen-Hua Teng, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, Asian Studies This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 License.
|
 |
|
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning -University of Texas at Austin COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate online language courses, reference grammars, and assessment tools in an open way. Each of the 17 represented languages on COERLL's website features a list of resources each of which is tailored to its respective language. -COERLL Most of the resources found on the COERLL website are licensed under a Creative Commons license; however, their license terms vary.
|
 |
|
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then release the audio files back onto the net for free. All published audio is in the public domain and therefore may be used for any purpose. LibriVox contains recordings of literary classics, autobiographies, plays, and poetry among many other genres all recorded in a variety of languages. English, French, Germain and Italian are just a few of all languages represented on LibriVox. All recordings featured on LibriVox are in the public domain. |
 |
