Collections of images from government organizations, such as the Bureau of Land Management, Defense Department, Energy Department, and the US Fish and Wildlife Service.
Public photography collections hosted by Flickr, including photographs from the Library of Congress, Oregon State University, National Media Museum, Powerhouse Museum.
Library of Congress's photographic collections, including Brady-Handy presidential portraits, daguerreotypes, Farm Security Administration photographs, National Photo Company early 20th-century photos of D.C., and more.
Work from nationally and internationally renowned photographers active in the Pacific Northwest, including Art Hupy, Ernest Kassowitz, Kyo Koike, Frank Kunishige, Mary Randlett and others. From the UW Libraries Special Collections.
American photographs from the 1860s-1920s in the New York Public Library. Includes albumen, platinum and silver gelatin prints from photographers including Alexander Gardner, William Henry Jackson, Timothy O'Sullivan, Edward S. Curtis, and Man Ray.
Sample of contemporary and classical photography, including works by Immogen Cuningham, William Eggleston, Walker Evans, and many others. Presented as portfolios with biographical information about the photographer and a browsable set of images.
Hosted by Duke University Libraries, this 50,000 item collection documents the work of photographer William Gedney, covering the 1950s to 1989 and locations in the United States, India, and Europe.
What can I use these images for?
Every database is different! Check each database's license terms if you are unsure if you can use an image.
Typically, images from databases can be used for:
Student papers
Student presentations or multimedia projects
Faculty classroom presentations
Often (but not always), images cannot be used for:
