It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress's photographic collections, including Brady-Handy presidential portraits, daguerreotypes, Farm Security Administration photographs, National Photo Company early 20th-century photos of D.C., and more.
Historical images from the National Archives' Online xhibits. Includes 20th century photographs and photographers, workplaces of the 19th and 20th centuries, historical panoramic photography, and more. Browse by topic, time period, or search by keyword.
Here you will find a curated collection of vintage photographs from public archives that are free of any copyright restrictions. If you are trying to create a twitter feed like @HistoricalPics, this might be a good source for images
Over 337,000 images digitized from primary sources and print rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including photographs on a variety of subjects and covering different time periods.
Digital archives of maps, photographs, newspapers, manuscripts, books, and other primary sources in both Western and non-Western languages documenting the history of the 19th century. Covers topics in science, technology, politics, society, literature and the arts, among others.
Photographs of historic events, as well as displays, objects and artifacts in the Smithsonian collections, offered by the Smithsonian Photographic Services. Search by keyword or browse by category, including American history, the Presidency, and more.
University of California's gateway to primary sources. Includes thousands of historical images from California cultural institutions, including the UC libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.
A collection of college yearbooks from Eastern Montana Normal School, Eastern Montana State Normal School, and Eastern Montana College of Education (now known as MSU Billings), beginning in 1929 with the last yearbook in 1972.
The Native Peoples of Northern Great Plains Digital Images Database includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.
Historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, and the United States. Hosted by the University of Southern California, with contributions from the Yale Divinity School.
Historical images from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Search by keyword or browse by category, including California places, society, and technology