Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Education Materials in Google Scholar
Find music education articles and other related scholarly materials using Google Scholar! Be sure to look for the "View it @ MSUB" in your search results to access articles from electronic journals to which the MSUB Library subscribes. To enable this setting in Google Scholar, click on Settings, Library Links, search for MSUB Billings, check the box next to MSUB. and save that setting.
Finding Music Education Dissertations and Theses
Music Education Web Sites
Finding Music Education Journal Articles
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and reports in education
Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. 1988-current
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Index to education-related newsletters, magazines, journals, and ERIC Document microfiche. Includes the ERIC thesaurus (a standardized list of subject terms).
Explora Educator's Edition This link opens in a new window
Explora is an interface designed for schools and public libraries. Content is designed for student research and classroom instruction and includes lesson plans, school standards, student tools, and more.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Finding Music Education Books
Listed below are some standard reference resources helpful for Music Education. If you'd like to browse the shelves on the 1st floor of the MSUB Library, please go to call number section M. Books on Music in Special Education are found in call number section MT17. To locate more books, please use an advanced search in our catalog.
Dictionary of music education by Irma Collins’s Dictionary of Music Education is more than just a lexicon. It is a journey through time and the story of the evolution of music education, including entries on notable individuals, crucial terms, important events, and key organizations—a broad survey of the field. Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe. Biographical entries profile musicians and music educators who were among the founders or first implementers of significant pedagogical tools and methods. Terms include standard concepts in the field of music education. Event and organization entries are those crucial to the advancement of music education regionally, nationally, and internationally. Dictionary of Music Education also includes a timeline, cross-references, and a significant bibliography. This work will interest anyone involved in the field of music education, from students and faculty to administrators and private instructors.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013
Sourcebook for research in music by Since it was first published in 1993, the Sourcebook for Research in Music has become an invaluable resource in musical scholarship. The balance between depth of content and brevity of format makes it ideal for use as a textbook for students, a reference work for faculty and professional musicians, and as an aid for librarians. The introductory chapter includes a comprehensive list of bibliographical terms with definitions; bibliographic terms in German, French, and Italian; and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems. Integrating helpful commentary to instruct the reader on the scope and usefulness of specific items, this updated and expanded edition accounts for the rapid growth in new editions of standard works, in fields such as ethnomusicology, performance practice, women in music, popular music, education, business, and music technology. These enhancements to its already extensive bibliographies ensures that the Sourcebook will continue to be an indispensable reference for years to come.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015
MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development by Answering fundamental questions about musical preference, ability, and communication, the field of Musical Cognition and Development is critical to the understanding of how music is processed, grasped, and learned. This book covers the latest theoretical and practical techniques that explain meaning and understanding in music. Chapters offer cogent and concise insights giving up-to-date information and references. The book covers the most important topics in this field, including skill development in music performance, research on communicating music expressiveness, the neurobiology of music, the cognitive constraints in the listening process, and music and medicine as applied to neuroscience.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2006
Examples of MSUB Library Books
Online Children's books
TumbleBookLibrary This link opens in a new window
TumbleBookLibrary is a curated database of children’s e-books, over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes animated talking picture books, read-along chapter books, National Geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French. Plus, the collection features Graphic Novels.