Skip to Main Content

Literary Awards: Lambda Literary Awards

This guide gives a listing of some of the literary award winners.

Lambda Literary Awards

For over 30 years, the Lambda Literary Awards (or “Lammys”) have maintained a proud tradition of celebrating vibrant, dynamic LGBTQ storytelling.  In 1989, the Lambda Literary Awards were created to garner national visibility for LGBTQ books, which had established a foothold through a nascent network of lesbian and gay publishers and bookstores. Today, the Lammys celebrate more than 150 LGBTQ writers across 25 categories, and include several cash prizes for writers at all stages in their careers.


Lambda Literary hosts a number of special awards recognizing the outstanding contributions made by individuals to LGBTQ literature, culture, and community. Of the many awards given as a part of the Lammys, the MSUB library has decided to collect winners in Lesbian Fiction, Gay Fiction, Bisexual Fiction, Transgender Fiction, and LGBTQ Studies.


To learn more about the Lambda Literary Awards, visit their website!

View Winners by Year