Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Modern Languages & Literature Databases
MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore research. It includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database. Uniquely relevant to today's curriculum, the resource's rich critical, biographical and contextual materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers will find the information they need on authors and their works, from all time periods and from around the world.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Gale's core repository of full-text literature; spans history and geography to offer nearly 150,000 poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays representing the work of more than 80,000 authors. More than 660 nationalities are represented; this database supports high school and college curriculum.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource covering authors, literature, and literary history Includes the full Dictionary of Literary Biography main series, as well as documentary and yearbook volumes.
Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840 This link opens in a new window
Part of the Nineteenth Century Collections Online. Includes 9,000+ titles including a wide range of Romantic literature published in English, French, and German.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Find magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters,magazines and more. 1932-present. Also use to see if a periodical is refereed or peer-reviewed.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Over 150 subject areas to choose from related to women's issues
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes resources on film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
LISTA - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. 1900 - present.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Definitive dictionary of the English language.
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project provides access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. ARTFL-FRANTEXT is the main ARTFL Database, comprising more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries. Additional databases can also be searched including multiple French dictionaries and Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie.
An excellent resource for historical primary texts in French.